Most Successful Teams in IPL: Top 5 Most Successful Teams in IPL History

ipl 2020 captains list

Most Successful Teams in IPL

The stage is set for the thirteenth edition of the Indian Premier League after another edition of exciting auctions were held in Kolkata a few weeks ago. The job of laptops and sheets is now over, and it is time for bats and balls to grab the limelight. In the twelve seasons we have had so far, things have been very unpredictable in this tournament.

IPL Winners List: Best Team in IPL

Here we present the list of IPL most successful team in IPL, The table which includes winner, runner-up, venue, number of teams participated, player of the match and player of the series. Let’s have look at the table of IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2020.


Year Winner Runner Up Venue Number of teams Player of the Match Player of the Series
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad 8 Jasprit Bumrah Andre Russell
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai 8 Shane Watson Sunil Narine
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants Hyderabad 8 Krunal Pandya Ben Stokes
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore 8 Ben Cutting Virat Kohli
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 8 Rohit Sharma Andre Russell
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Bangalore 8 Manish Pandey Glenn Maxwell
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata 9 Kieron Pollard Shane Watson
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Chennai 9 Manvinder Bisla Sunil Narine
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai 10 Murali Vijay Chris Gayle
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Mumbai 8 Suresh Raina Sachin Tendulkar
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Johannesburg 8 Anil Kumble Adam Gilchrist
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Mumbai 8 Yusuf Pathan Shane Watson

We have teams like Royal Challengers Bangalore, who always look extremely intimidating on the paper, but often fail to perform on the pitch. On the other hand, we have a team in Chennai Super Kings, who maintain a low and not-so-exciting profile on paper, but are undoubtedly the most consistent side of IPL. All in all, we can agree on the fact that a total of five teams can be labelled as the most successful teams in IPL. Let us have a look at those teams:

Read More: Most Successful Captains In IPL


#1 Chennai Super Kings


If we are to judge success by the number of trophies won, then Chennai Super Kings is clearly not the most successful team of the Indian Premier League, as Mumbai Indians have won more trophies. But look up ‘consistency’ in the dictionary, and Chennai Super Kings’ example will pop up. The Yellow Army have been right on the money from their very first game, and haven’t looked out of depth for the tiniest minuscule of a second.

In the ten seasons, they have played in, Chennai Super Kings have made to to the semi-finals of all the seasons. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team has played seven finals and won three of them. If they weren’t suspended for two seasons, the Whistle Podu gang might have had more to boast of. They are the worthy first name in the list of 5 most successful teams in IPL.

Read More: Most Wins by CSK in IPL


#2 Mumbai Indians


Our second mention on the list of 5 most successful teams in the IPL has had a different story, as compared to CSK. Unlike Dhoni’s team, Mumbai Indians took time to shine in IPL. They had very ordinary first two seasons and reached semi-finals for the first time in 2010. However, they failed to lift the trophy. In the next two years, they made it to the playoffs but failed to lift their hands on the silverware.

Then came their golden era, where the Indians reached new heights under Rohit Sharma leadership. They won their first season in 2013 and did a double just two years later. In the next four seasons, Mumbai Indians won two more titles.

Read More: Most Wins by MI in IPL


#3 Kolkata Knight Riders


If Mumbai Indians’ story is a fairy-tale, Kolkata Knight Riders’ story is the mother of all fairy-tales. While Indians had an average start to IPL, KKR’s start was way beyond horrible. They were the bottom dwellers, becoming a laughing stock for the rest of the sides. In the first three seasons, KKR finished amongst the bottom three.

Things changed from 2011 when they made it to the playoffs for the first time ever. Gautam Gambhir brought in a sense of unbridled energy which was missing. KKR won their first-ever title against all odds in 2011. They won their second title in 2014. Things had been going smooth ever since, and they made 3 consecutive playoffs appearances. But the 2019 edition has been very poor for the Knights.

Read More: Most Wins by KKR in IPL


#4 Sunrisers Hyderabad


Sunrisers Hyderabad came into existence when Deccan Chargers, an IPL winning team, closed down operations in 2012. SUN TV Network decided to buy a franchise and represent Hyderabad, and from the very first year, they have been impressive. Hyderabad reached the playoffs in their very first season, telling out loud and clear that they solely meant business.

The next couple of years weren’t good, but under David Warner leadership, Hyderabad lifted their first trophy in 2016. Things have been smooth for them ever since. Though they haven’t won any more trophies, they made it to two playoffs and one final. Kane Williamson team is our fourth entrant in the list of five Best Team in IPL.

Read More: Most Wins by SRH in IPL


#5 Rajasthan Royals


Rajasthan Royals‘ journey in IPL has been full of ups and downs, both regarding on-field and off-field matters. The team has initially owned by Emerging Media Group and were deemed as the weakest side of the IPL. However, they defied all odds and lifted the trophy in the inaugural edition of the tournament.

The Royals have been very pragmatic in their approach ever since. From Ravindra Jadeja to Riyan Parag, they have managed to find some great unexplored and uncut gems. Royals have made it to the playoffs three more times, but never again to the finals.