Purple Cap

WPL 2024 Purple Cap

The bowler, who takes the highest wickets in the season, is awarded with a purple cap in WPL. The excitement and fan enthusiasm created by the Purple Cap is one of the highlights of WPL 2024. For every wicket taking delivery, a bowler comes a little close to winning the purple cap. They make a noticeable influence on the result of various matches, as well as proving themselves as successful players who can impact a game at different times.

The battle for the Purple Cap keeps the bowlers of the different sides on their toes from the first day of the WPL 2024, as every player fights to grab the most coveted award. As a result, bowlers try to apply their tactical abilities and different approaches like pace, spin, seam etc to clinch the wickets. With escalating stakes in each tournament game, the champions title fight for the Purple Cap twisted the narrative of Women T20 IPL in favor of the bowlers. Thus, fans also get a deeper impression of the role played by bowlers.

No. Bowler Team Mat Wkts
1 Amelia Kerr Mumbai Indians 2 6
2 Asha Shobana Royal Challengers Bangalore 1 5
3 Marizanne Kapp Delhi Capitals 2 4
4 Shabnim Ismail Mumbai Indians 2 4
5 Radha Yadav Delhi Capitals 2 4
6 Arundhati Reddy Delhi Capitals 2 3
7 Natalie Sciver Mumbai Indians 2 3
8 TP Kanwer Gujarat Giants 1 2
9 Rajeshwari Gayakwad UP Warriorz 2 2
10 Sophie Ecclestone UP Warriorz 2 2
11 Alice Capsey Delhi Capitals 2 2
12 Lea Tahuhu Gujarat Giants 1 1
13 Kathryn Bryce Gujarat Giants 1 1
14 Grace Harris UP Warriorz 2 1
15 Georgia Wareham Royal Challengers Bangalore 1 1

*Table updated on 27th february