IPL 2022 Finals: Can Jos Buttler will break Virat Kohli’s massive IPL Record? Top 5 bastmen with most IPL centuries in a single season

IPL over the years has evolved a lot. There were times when a score of 150+ were considered as winning total. Today the game has changed now team plays with a violent mindset and tries to score as many runs on the board in the limited-over format. Franchise prefers aggressive batsmen who play with an outstanding strike rate.

Many talented batsmen have written their names in the IPL history books but not every batsmen have maintained their class throughout a single season of IPL.

In this IPL season, Rajasthan Royals Jos Buttler has been in amazing form and is currently the highest run-scorer in this current IPL 2022 season as he scored a massive tally of 824 runs in 16 matches at an average of 58.86 and an aggressive strike rate of 151.47. 

Most Centuries in IPL: Top 5 Batsmen with Most Hundreds in IPL

Not only being the highest run-getter this season but Jos Buttler is also standing on breaking a massive IPL record. The Rajasthan Royals batter has hit so far 4 centuries in the IPL 2022. Buttler is currently tied with former RCB skipper Virat Kohli for the most number of centuries in a single IPL season. 

If Jos Buttler scores another century in the finals against Gujarat Titans he will set the new record for the most IPL centuries in a single season with 5 centuries.

Meanwhile, in IPL 2016 season, Virat Kohli has scored tons in a single season. Kohli is also the leading run-getters in a single IPL season with 973 runs, the most runs scored by any player in a single IPL season.

Also, Jos Buttler is the only third player in the history of IPL to score more than 800 runs in the tournament after Virat Kohli and David Warner. Buttler becomes the first batter to score more than 800 runs in this year’s IPL edition. 

Buttler currently had 824 runs under his name and still one game to play. Meanwhile, Virat Kohli scored 973 runs and Warner had 848 runs.

These kinda players score consistently in a single IPL season. Here are the Top 5 batsmen with the most IPL centuries in a single season.

Year Player Team Runs No. of Centuries
2016 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 973  4
2022 Jos Buttler Rajasthan Royals  824  4
2011 Chris Gayle  Royal Challengers Bangalore 608 2
2017 Hashim Amla  Kings XI Punjab 420 2
2018 Shane Watson  Chennai Super Kings 555 2
2020 Shikhar Dhawan Delhi Capitals 618 2
2022 KL Rahul Lucknow Super Giants 616 2