Sunil Gavaskar predicts his winner for IPL 2020

Indian Premier League is one of the most competitive T20 franchise tournaments in the world. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are two teams which have mastered winning the knockouts of the cash-rich league. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have dominated IPL over the years. MI have won IPL on 4 occasions, while CSK lifted the title three times.

The thirteenth edition of Indian Premier League is all set to start from 19th September 2020. Amidst the Covid-19 on slowish surfaces of UAE, it will be interesting to see who takes the title home this time.

Meanwhile, former Indian legendary player, Sunil Gavaskar has predicted his winning team which could lift the IPL title this year. The cricketer turned commentator said that Rohit and Co. have won the title on 4 occasions and knows how to play in the difficult situations in the knockouts.

Mumbai Indians Squad

Mumbai Indians have won the IPL 4 times which means that they know how to come out of difficult situations. That is why I feel MI shouldn’t find it too difficult to win the championship again this year,” he explained.

However, Sunil Gavaskar has also pointed out a couple of loopholes in the side. According to the former great, the team lacks an experienced spinner and a number four batsman.

What they don’t have are experienced spinners like other teams. And another area of concern is the middle order, they have to think hard about who will bat for them at No.4 and 5. If Quinton de Kock plays then he will open the innings with either Rohit Sharma or Suryakumar Yadav. But who will bat at No.4?”

Mumbai Indians will play the first match of IPL 2020 against Chennai Super Kings on 19th September 2020.