Sunil Gavaskar predicts his playing XI for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020

Mumbai Indians Squad

Out of 12 editions, Mumbai Indians have won the IPL trophy for as many as 4 times. Indian Premier League is arguably the most competitive T20 franchise tournament in the world. Winning the title on 4 occasions tells you a lot about the franchise. Rohit and Co. would be eyeing their fifth title in the upcoming edition.

Meanwhile, former great, Sunil Gavaskar has predicted Mumbai Indians as the winners of IPL 2020. Though, he has also pointed out a couple of loopholes in the sides which could make them suffer in the tournament.

Sunil Gavaskar opined that the team doesn’t have an experienced spinner and a solid number four batsman.

While talking to Vikrant Gupta on Aaj Tak, Sunil Gavaskar listed down his predicted eleven for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020.

Sunil Gavaskar picked Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav as two openers for the side. Rohit Sharma has been exemplary when it comes leading to Mumbai Indians in IPL. However, his performances with the bat have seen a dip in the last couple of years. He would be itching to make a mark this season. Suryakumar Yadav, on the other hand, has been one of the most prolific run-scorer for the side. Sunil Gavaskar wants him to open the batting this year alongside Rohit Sharma.

For the number three spot, Sunil Gavaskar chose Quinton de Kock. The South African had an exemplary season last year with the bat. He scored 529 runs in 16 matches at an average of 35.26.

Gavaskar preferred Ishan Kishan for the number four spot, followed by three all-rounders in Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard and Krunal Pandya. Gavaskar chose Rahul Chahar as their front-line spinner and went with three quality seamers such as Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Sunil Gavaskar’s predicted playing XI of Mumbai Indians:

Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult/Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah.