SLC to host the second season of LPL 2021 from July 30 to August 22nd 2021

Sri Lanka Cricket hopeful of going ahead with T20 League in August

The first edition of the Lanka Premier League was hosted successfully by Sri Lanka Cricket Board(SLC)  from November 26th, 2020 to December 16th, 2020  which gathered a lot of attention of cricket fans all across the globe.

Sri Lanka

As per the latest developments, the second edition of LPL is all set to take place from July 30th to August 22nd, 2021. The news was confirmed by Arjuna de Silva, Chairman of the management committee of SLC cricket in an official press release.

“ We have found a suitable window to hold this year’s edition, whilst we are working on finalizing the other details of the tournament” the SLC press release stated.

The first edition of LPL was conducted behind closed doors in Hambantota at Mahindra Rajapaksa International Stadium. Sri Lanka Cricket is planning to consider all the aspects and discuss them with the Ministry of Health before arriving at a final conclusion.

The first edition of LPL was won by Jaffna Stallions where they defeated Galle Gladiators in a one-sided affair by 53 runs. The first edition had five franchises including the likes of Colombo Kings, Dambulla Vikings, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions, and Kandy Tuskers.

Lankan Premier League is a great asset for Sri Lanka cricket who are struggling in the last few years especially after the stalwarts like Sangakkara, Jayawardene, and  Muralitharan retired from the International circuit.