Rohit Sharma gets nominated for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Rohit Sharma vs England

Indian star batsman Rohit Sharma who has played a lot of match-winning innings for India in recent years especially in ODI cricket has been nominated by BCCI for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Whereas Shikhar Dhawan, Ishant Sharma, and Deepti Sharma have been nominated for the Arjuna award.

Indian vice-captain is elated with this announcement where he expressed his happiness through a video posted on BCCI twitter handle where he said “I am extremely delighted and humbled” also he added that “I am grateful to BCCI and all my teammates, support staff and fan of the game, and my family for sticking by me. Thank you very much”.

As Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is the biggest award for sports given by the government of India for those athletes or players who have played a great role in making their team win any match based on their individual performances.

Let me share the list of player who has received this award before and they are:

Year Name Of The Awardee Discipline
2019 Bajrang Punia Wrestling
Deepa Malik Paralympic


2018 Mirabai Chanu  Weightlifting
Virat Kohli Cricket
2017 Sardar Singh Hockey
Devendra Para – Athletic
2016 P.V. Sindhu Badminton
Dipa Karmakar Gymnastics
Jitu Rai Shooting
Sakshi Malik Wrestling
2015 Sania Mirza Tennis
2013 Ronjan Sodhi Shooting
2012 Vijay Kumar Shooting
Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling
2011 Gagan Narang Shooting
2010 Saina Nehwal Badminton
2009 Mary Kom Boxing
Vijender Singh
Sushil Kumar Wrestling
2007 MS Dhoni Cricket
2006 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2005 Pankaj Advani Billiards & Snooker
2004 Lt. Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2003 Anju Bobby George Athletics
2002 K M Beenamol Athletics
Anjali R.Bhagwat Shooting
2001 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2000-2001 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
1999-2000 Dhanraj Pillay Hockey
1998-1999 Jyotirmoyee Sikdar Athletics
1997-1998 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
1996-1997 Leander Paes Tennis
1995-1996 N Kunjurani Weightlifting
1994-1995 K Malleshwari Weightlifting
1992-1994 Cdr. Homi D. Motivala Yachting
Cdr. P.K. Garg Yachting
1991-1992 Vishwanath Anand Chess
Geet Sethi Billiards

Talking about Rohit Sharma awards he must have got several awards in his carrier but getting nominated and if he wins this award it will be one of the biggest awards of his life as it matters a lot for a sportsman to get this accolade which is for the highest sports honour in the country.