BCCI congratulates Rohit Sharma on winning Khel Ratna Award


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) applauded the fiery Indian opener Rohit Sharma who has been conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award on August 29.

BCCI took to Twitter and wrote, “Congratulations @ImRo45 for being conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, 2020, India’s highest sporting honour. He is only the fourth Indian cricketer to receive this award. We are proud of you, Hitman!”

India’s limited-overs vice-captain had an outstanding 2019 where he scored 1,490 runs in ODIs at an average of 57.30 and also finished as the highest run-getter in the 2019 World Cup with five centuries in the tournament. He was also promoted as an opener in Test cricket where he made 556 runs in five matches.

The only other three cricketers to have earned this prestigious honour are Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli.
Apart from Rohit this year, Mariyappan T. (Para-Athletics), Manika Batra (Table Tennis), Vinesh Phogat (Wrestling) and Rani Rampal (Hockey) will be consulted with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

The cricket leading figure in India also praised pacer Ishant Sharma and women team’s Deepti Sharma as both players will obtain Arjuna Award this year.

“Congratulations to our senior-most Test bowler @ImIshant for winning the prestigious Arjuna Award for 2020. Keep going, champ!” BCCI tweeted.

In an additional tweet, BCCI wrote, “Congratulations to our all-rounder @Deepti_Sharma06 on being conferred upon with the prestigious Arjuna Award for 2020. May you continue soaring new heights.”

Head coach Ravi Shastri tweeted: “Congratulations! The SHARMAAAAAS – Well done Ro for Khel Ratna and Ishi for Arjuna – Rohit Sharma, Ishant Sharma.”

National Sports Awards which include the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the Arjuna award, the Dronacharya award, and the Dhyan Chand award, are deliberated on athletes every year by the President of India at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on August 29, the National Sports Day.

Nevertheless, this year, the names would be proclaimed by President Ram Nath Kovind virtually because of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

“The ceremony will take place virtually but what we will have to see how the exact process would pan out,” a source within the Sports Ministry had told ANI.