Top 5 highest wicket takers in IPL history

Top 5 highest wicket takers in IPL history

There is a famous saying that “Batters win you matches but Bowlers win you tournaments.” It is pretty evident from this statement that bowlers are a very integral part of your team. Your batters may help you put a huge score on the board but in the end, bowlers are the ones who take wickets and help you defend the score.

You might win a match without the help of bowlers but you cannot win a tournament or series without them which is the end goal of every team. Here, we are going to have a look at the top-5 bowlers in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). These are judged on the basis of wickets taken and the economy rate.

1. Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)

Dwayne Bravo most wickets in ipl

Dwayne Bravo has been the best bowler in the entire history of the league. He has also achieved the highest bowling award, Purple Cap, two times in the IPL. He has played 158 matches in which he has bowled in just 156 innings. He has taken a record 181 wickets in those 156 innings with an economy of 8.39 runs per over. Bravo has always bowled the tough overs for his team considering that his economy is also decent. He has played for the Chennai Super Kings franchise for the most part of his IPL career under the leadership of M S Dhoni. He played his last IPL season in 2022 and announced his retirement from the IPL ahead of this season’s auction. He was named the bowling coach of the Chennai franchise so he still remains in their dugout and shares his cricketing wisdom with the youngsters coming there.

2. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

Lasith Malinga most wickets in ipl
This Lankan bowler was known for his fantastic yorkers during his time. He was one of the finest new ball as well as death ball bowlers in the IPL. He took a record 170 wickets in just 122 IPL innings. His economy rate at the end of his IPL career was 7.14 runs per over which is pretty exceptional. He played for many teams in his IPL journey but finished his career as a player with Mumbai Indians. He coached Mumbai for a few years but then left their camp. He is currently the pace bowling coach of Rajasthan Royals and is passing on the fast bowling baton to the next generation.

3. Amit Mishra (India)

Amit mishra in the IPL acution 2023

The first Indian player on this best bowlers list in the IPL is Amit Mishra. Amit Mishra is one of the legends of the IPL as he has also taken many hat-tricks in the league. The first Indian as well as the first leg-spinner on this list is Mishra Ji. Amit Mishra finished his IPL career with 166 wickets in 154 matches. He spun the bowl like a magician during his days. His economy was also 7.35 runs per over which is an excellent figure for any spinner. Mishra went unsold in the 2022 IPL Auction but he will play for the Lucknow Super Giants franchise in the upcoming edition of the IPL as he was bought by them for his base price of INR 50 lakhs.

4. Yuzvendra Chahal (India)

Yuzvendra Chahal in IPL

Another spinner in this list is another Indian player, Yuzi Chahal. One of the modern greats of the game, Chahal has been among the IPL’s best bowlers time and again. He has a staggering record of 157 wickets in just 121 innings with an economy rate of 7.55 runs per over. Yuzi has played for many IPL franchises over the years and has learned a lot from each of them. He started with Mumbai Indians, then went to Royal Challengers Bangalore, and then he was bought by the Rajasthan Royals in the 2022 Mega Auction. He also won the Purple Cap last time around playing for the Rajasthan Royals.

5. Piyush Chawla (India)

Piyush Chawla is the third Indian leg-spinner on this list of top-5 bowlers in the history of the IPL. He has a total of 157 wickets in 164 innings. His economy rate is 7.88 runs per over which I feel is great because anything below 8 in a T20 game, whether national or international, is exceptional. Chawla has played for Kolkata Knight Riders for the most part of his IPL career though he has also played for other franchises like Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Piyush Chawla was part of the winning squad of KKR which won the trophy in the years 2012 and 2014. He will play for the Mumbai Indians this season as they got him for INR 50 lakhs in the auction.