Sri Lanka Cricket to organize Lanka Premier League between November 14 and December 6 

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Cricket hopeful of going ahead with T20 League in August

Sri Lanka Cricket, on Wednesday, has announced that the inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League will be played between 14th November and 6th December 2020. Earlier, the tournament was scheduled to take place between 28th August and 20th September 2020. However, with a rise in the cases of Covid-19, it was postponed to a later date. 

The much-awaited Lanka Premier League, a franchised based T20 league organized by Sri Lanka Cricket will be officially launched in Sri Lanka early November this year. The tournament is scheduled to be played from November 14 to December 6,” SLC said in a statement.

Sportzcraazy understands that the Sri Lanka cricket has partnered with Innovative Production Group to conduct the tournament successfully. 


The inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League will be played at three venues. 

  1. Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium
  2. Pallekele International Cricket Stadium 
  3. Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium.


As many as five teams will participate in the tournament, which are named after the cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna. 

Here’s the list of all five teams:

  1. Colombo Lions
  2. Dambulla Hawks
  3. Galle Gladiators
  4. Jaffna Cobras
  5. Kandy Tuskers 


The squads of all five teams haven’t been announced yet. 

A local league is welcomed by both players and fans alike, as it provides a platform for the players to hone their skills playing alongside top-notch cricketers in the world,” the release further stated.