MESSI, JUAN or Daniel Who will win the FIFA Puskas Award of 2019 at the FIFA Football Awards?

Form the initial ten nominees for the FIFA Puskas Award chosen by the panel of FIFA and external football experts on the 19th August 2019, three finalists were chosen through public voting which lasted till 1st September 2019. The Award is to be announced today on the basis of the vote fall upon the players at Here is the list of the three finalists who made it to the finals due to their beautiful goals.

1. Lionel Messi

The Barcelona superstar, Lionel Messi is an expert who makes the extraordinary things very normal, a very example is the goal he netted against the Real Betis on 17th March 2019. After receiving a cut-back from his teammate Ivan Rakitic, from a distance of 18 yards, he chipped the ball over the goalkeeper Pau Lopez straight inside the goal.

2. Juan Fernando Quintero

Playing a match against the River Plate, the former so-called wonderkid, from a distance of 35 yards projected the ball, striking from his left-foot which bent inside the top-right corner in a remarkable display of the beauty of accuracy.

3. Daniel Zsori

The eighteen-year-old Hungarian footballer, Daniel Zsori at his league debut match against Ferencvaros on 16th February 2019, converted a cross into a spectacular goal through an overhead-kick just inside the area, at the top-far corner in stoppage time to secure a 2-1 win.

On 20th October 2009, the Federation Internationale de Football Association, on the request of President Sepp Blatter started the FIFA Puskas Awards, to award a player who netted the most beautiful goal of the year.  The award is given irrespective to the gender, race and the background of the player, the award is named after the Real Madrid striker Ferenc Puskas who has a record of netting 84 goals in 85 international matches. The Award was presented for the first time during the 2009 FIFA World Player of the Year Gala On 21st December in Switzerland, Cristiano Ronaldo became the first player who was honored by the award.

Leave a Reply