IPL 2022: Hattrick spells of IPL History

Hattrick spells of IPL until date

India’s most celebrated cricket league is almost round the corner. While we can expect numerous history that can be scripted in IPL 2022, we take you down the memory lane with one of the most talked about topic when it comes to bowling in cricket.

Bowling in short format cricket can be challenging. There are no room for errors. The bowlers not only need to minimize runs as much as possible but also make sure they get timely wickets to keep the balance. However, there have been players who amazed us all by hattricks in IPL.

Ahead of IPL 2021, We bring to you list of all hat-tricks in the past 13 editions of the IPL.


IPL- 2008 (Lakshmipathy Balaji, Amit Mishra, Makhaya Ntini)



The first edition of the Indian Premier League saw three players who scalped hat tricks. Lakshmipathy Balaji scripted his name in history,as he became the first player to get a hat trick versus Punjab Kings (PBKS). Followed Amit Mishra who got the first of his three IPL hat tricks against Deccan Chargers, Chennai Super Kings pacer Makhaya Ntini also picked up a hat trick against the Kolkata Knight Riders.


IPL- 2009 (Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma)

Yuvraj Singh hat tricks in ipl

The 2009 edition had the same hat-trick count as the first edition but it was not by three separate players.

PBKS (then Kings XI Punjab) Yuvraj Singh bagged hat-tricks twice on two separate occasions in the tournament. The first came against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) although in vain as they lost that game. His second hat-trick against Deccan Chargers, however, helped his side to script victory.

The second player to get a hat-trick in 2009 was Rohit Sharma. He is known for his splendid performance with the bat, he also showed his skills with the ball as he managed to scalp Hattrick. He represented Deccan Chargers at the time, he got his hat-trick versus Mumbai Indians.


IPL- 2010 (Praveen Kumar)

The 2010 edition witnessed one hat-trick, by Royal Challengers Bangalore Praveen Kumar. It came versus Rajasthan Royals, the hattick helped his side to wrap up RR for just 92 runs. Bangalore, undoubtedly, chased down the target


IPL- 2011 (Amit Mishra)

The king of IPL hat-tricks, Amit Mishra got his second hat trick in 2011 versus PBKS. Then with Deccan Chargers, Mishra’s spell with the ball helped his side to bundle up Punjab for just 82 runs.


IPL- 2012 (Ajit Chandila)

Ajit Chandila

IPL 2012 also had just one hat-trick like its previous edition, which was bagged by Ajith Chandila of Rajasthan Royals versus Pune Warriors India.

While the road to playoffs was quite a battle, Chandila’s hat-trick assisted Rajasthan successfully defend its total of 170.


IPL- 2013 (Amit Mishra, Sunil Narine)

Sunil Narine most wickets in ipl

The legend of Hattrick was back again this time, but donning the Sunrisers Hyderabad jersey, Amit Mishra managed to remain in the Hattrick list yet again for being the only player with three hat-tricks in the Indian Premier League.

Kolkata Knight Rider ace mystery-spinner Sunil Narine also got his first and only hat- trick against Punjab Kings.


IPL- 2014 (Pravin Tambe, Shane Watson)

Pravin Tambe IPL

IPL 2014 witnessed two hat-tricks by bowlers of the same team.The first one was Rajasthan Royals leg-spinner PravinTambe’s against Kolkata and helped Rajasthan register victory.

The second one, was scalped by Australia’s ace Shane Watson against Hyderabad, However it wasn’t fruitful as Hyderabad displayed some exceptional performance and defended the total of 134 by bowling out Rajasthan for 102.


IPL- 2016 (Axar Patel)

Axar Patel IPL

In the 2016 edition of the IPL, Axar not only took a hat-trick but also grabbed eyeballs with a four-for in just five balls against Gujarat Lions.


IPL- 2017 (Samuel Badree, Andrew Tye and Jaydev Unadkat)


2017 IPL witnessed three hat-tricks in a single season. Samuel Badree’s four-wicket haul was the first one but went in losing cause as Bangalore failed to defend a total of 142. Second Hattrick was registered by Andrew for Gujarat Lions against Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS).The third hat-trick of the season was bagged by Jaydev Unadkat against SRH.


IPL- 2019 (Sam Curran, Shreyas Gopal)

Shreyas Gopal vs CSK

Punjab Kings player Sam Curran bagged the first hat-trick of the 2019 IPL, which assisted his team beat Delhi in a low-score thriller.In a match where spoiled the match, Shreyas Gopal’s hat-trick versus RCB made him to get on the list of hat-trick bowlers in the IPL.


IPL- 2021 (Harshal Patel)

Harshal Patel bagged the first hat-trick of IPL 2021 as he helped RCB to its first win of the second leg in Dubai versus Mumbai Indians. Harshal finished with a splendid figures of 4/15. He managed to send off Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard and Rahul Chahar.