Sri Lankan Cricket Board along with ICC Anti Corruption Units to monitor LPL 2020

Sri Lanka Cricket hopeful of going ahead with T20 League in August

Lankan Premier League which is all set to start from 26th November 2020 will adopt a zero-tolerance policy against any wrongdoing as all the actions will be continuously monitored by Sri Lankan Cricket board as well as by ICC Anti Corruption unit to make sure that all the matches are played keeping the spirit of the game alive. This news was confirmed by the Sri Lankan Board official on Saturday.

All the relevant officials from SLC and ICC anti-corruption will be present and vigilant at every match, event and official functions which includes hotels too where the players will be staying. As per the media reports, all the players and officials are strictly advised to report any anti-corruption activity to the Anti Corruption Managers who are appointed by LPL and then these activities will be dealt confidentially by the respective anti-corruption unit to make sure that it does not hamper the prestige of LPL.

Also Sri Lankan Cricket Board CEO Ashley De Silva talked about maintaining the integrity of the tournament and they have received support from all team owners and officials in that regard.

“We requested them to ensure that all the team players and officials, follow the anti-corruption protocols in place and work towards holding a clean and fair tournament,” De Silva said in an official statement.

The SLC and ICC Anti-corruption unit will be providing a 24*7 hotline number which will be valid throughout the tournament in order to receive information about any suspicious activity and they will also conduct Anti-Corruption Education Programs for all the players, officials before the tournament starts on 26th November 2020.

The first match of the tournament will be played between Colombo and Kandy at Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. All the matches will be played in a doubleheader format by five teams named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna until the semifinal match which will commence on December 13th and 14th 2020 and finally the two top teams of the tournament will be playing against each other for the title on December 16th 2020.