NBA Releases Schedule for the Season Restart, 22 Teams Will Play 8 Matches Each


National Basketball Association (NBA) has released the complete fixtures of the season comeback which will take place at the Walt Disney Arena in Florida, starting from July 31 (IST). In this new format introduced by the league, each team will play 8 regular-season games, before the season playoffs. 

The opening game will have New Orleans Pelicans and Utah Jazz facing each other at the Field House in Orlando where this time Zion Williamson won’t be missing out on this opening game like the one during the 1st game of NOP in NBA 2019-20. 

The second game will have the Western Conference giants Los Angeles Lakers vs Los Angeles Clippers as it is expected to break all the TRP records due to its national television broadcasting. One of their games was already cancelled in March when the Lakers’ legend Kobe Bryant had passed away. 

The overall season return fixture has been made in a way that all the teams will merely have two weeks to secure a place in the playoffs since the playoffs will start from August 15 onwards. 

The addition of the new schedule to the original schedule means, 22 teams will play 72 or 73 games after the eight “seeding games” in which Dallas Mavericks will play the most number of matches i.e., 75 contests while San Antonio Spurs and Los Angeles Lakers will play the least i.e., 71 matches. 

Here is the list of teams from both the conferences who will participate in the season reboot:

Eastern Conference

  • Milwaukee Bucks
  • Toronto Raptors
  • Boston Celtics
  • Miami Heat
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Philadelphia 76ers
  • Brooklyn Nets
  • Orlando Magic
  • Washington Wizards

Western Conference

  • Los Angeles Lakers
  • LA Clippers
  • Denver Nuggets
  • Utah Jazz
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Houston Rockets
  • Dallas Mavericks
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • Portland Trail Blazers
  • New Orleans Pelicans
  • Sacramento Kings
  • San Antonio Spurs
  • Phoenix Suns

In order to cover as many games in just two weeks, the league will conduct multiple games on a single day starting from the afternoon of July 30 (UTC -5) and the matches will be played after a break of 2 hours at least for the sanitisation process.  

The NBA playoffs will begin Aug. 17, and the NBA Finals are set to begin Sept. 30 with a possible Game 7 on Oct. 13.

  1. Sacramento Kings’ Schedule 

2. Phoenix Suns’ Schedule

3. Philadelphia 76ers Schedule

4. Orlando Magic Schedule

5. Washington Wizards Schedule

6. Utah Jazz Schedule

7. Toronto Raptors Schedule

8. San Antonio Spurs Schedule

9. Portland Trail Blazers’ Schedule

10. Oklahoma City Thunder Schedule

11. New Orleans Pelicans Schedule

12. Milwaukee Bucks Schedule

13. Miami Heat Schedule 

14. Memphis Grizzlies Schedule

15. Los Angeles Lakers Schedule

16. LA Clippers Schedule

17. Indiana Pacers Schedule

18. Houston Rockets Schedule

19. Denver Nuggets Schedule

20. Denver Nuggets Schedule

21. Brooklyn Nets Schedule 

22. Boston Celtics Schedule

About Pratik Pathak

A Mass media student with a goal of finessing the sports readers with every grain of the information about their favourite sports. Besides, I am a keen learner and always up for a healthy debate in my area of expertise