Quinton de Kock pulls out of Solidarity Cup, Temba Bavuma to lead Kites

Cricket South Africa announces new dates for Solidarity Cup

South African wicket-keeper batsman and skipper, Quinton de Kock has pulled out of the 3TC Solidarity Cup in the eleventh hour due to an “unavoidable personal reasons” on Saturday. 

The inaugural edition of the 3TC Solidarity Cup will begin from 18th July i.e., today and it will be played at the SuperSport Park in Pretoria, Centurion. 

He has now been replaced by first-class cricketer Ryan Rickleton, while Temba Bavuma will be seen leading the Quinny’s Kites in the competition. 

Previously, pacer Kagiso Rabada, who was set to lead Klassen’s Kingfishers had pulled out along with the all-rounder Chris Morris and Sisanda Magala from the tournament. 

Their replacements were named in the form of Thando Ntini (Kingfishers), Gerald Coetzee (Kingfishers) and Bjorn Fortuin (Eagles) respectively. 

The updated squads of 3TC Solidarity Cup are as follows: 

OUTsurance Kingfishers: Reeza Hendricks (captain), Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Faf du Plessis, Thando Ntini, Gerald Coetzee, Glenton Stuurman, Tabraiz Shamsi. Coach: Mignon du Preez.

Mr D Food Kites: Temba Bavuma (captain), Jon-Jon Smuts, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortje, Ryan Rickleton. Coach: Wandile Gwavu.

Takealot Eagles: AB de Villiers (captain), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Junior Dala, Lungi Ngidi. Coach: Geoffrey Toyana.

The players will be seen supporting the ‘Black Lives Matters’ movement when they take on the field during the competition.