Jaydev Unadkat Magic Leads Saurashtra into the finals



Jaydev Unadkat brilliance helps Saurashtra beat Gujarat by 92 runs in the first semi-finals of 2019/20 Ranji Trophy season played at SCA Stadium, Rajkot on Wednesday.

Starting on an overnight score of 7 for 1, Unadkat struck early dismissing Samit Gohel. Saurashtra Unadkat got his third wicket of the innings with a good caught and bowl off Dhruv Raval to leave Gujarat struggling at 18 for 3. Parthiv Patel came to the crease taking the attack to Saurashtra with positive stroke play. Mankad got rid of Bhargav Merai for 14. Mirai and Parthiv added 42 runs for the 4th wicket. Chirag Jani dismissed Rujul Bhatt to leave Gujarat in big trouble at 63 for 5. Chirag Gandhi and Parthiv Patel put the pressure on Saurashtra bowlers. Gujarat went into the lunch break at 105 for 5.

ranji trophy semi final

In the second session, Patel and Chirag Gandhi kept the scoreboard ticking. Parthiv reached his fifty off 92 balls. Gandhi also impressed with his stroke play to reach his half-century off 76 balls. Patel and Chirag rotated the strike well and hit bad balls away for boundaries. The Saurashtra bowlers were not able to put pressure on Patel and Gandhi. Patel and Gandhi ensured that Gujarat went into the tea break at 206 for 5 with 121 runs to win.

Parthiv Patel and Chirag Gandhi smashed Unadkat for 13 runs in the first over after tea break. Unadkat produced a beauty to dismiss Gujarat captain Parthiv Patel to break 158 runs stand for the 6th wicket. Unadkat then got the wicket of Axar Patel off the very next ball. Unadkat was superb getting the wicket of Chirag Gandhi for 96 and then got Nagwasalla with a good catch at slips by Desai to give Saurashtra a 92 runs win.

Earlier on day 1, Gujarat captain Parthiv Patel won the toss and decided to field first. Saurashtra openers Kishan Parmar and Harvik Desai had a great start adding 62 runs. Gujarat bowlers kept a tight line and length not allowing Saurashtra to score runs freely. Saurashtra ended the first day on 217 for 5.


On the 2nd day, Sheldon Jackson made his century and was dismissed for 103. Saurashtra were bowled out for 304 runs in the first innings. It was not an ideal start for Gujarat as they were struggling at 119 for 6 at the end of day 2.

Rujul Bhatt looked solid with his stroke play and added 57 runs for the 7th wicket with Axar Patel. Chintan Gaja came to the crease and took the attack to Saurashtra bowlers scoring 61 off 103 balls. Gaja and Bhatt added 87 runs for the 9th wicket. Gujarat were bowled out for 252 runs in the first innings with a lead of 52.

Chintan Gaja produced a magical spell on the third evening as he reduced Saurashtra to 15 for 5. Arpit Vasavada and Sakariya steadied Saurashtra innings to take them to 66 for 5 at the end of day 3.

Both overnight batsmen looked impressive when Sakariya was run out by Axar Patel. Vasavada and Sakariya added 90 runs for the 6th wicket. Chirag Jani came to the crease and looked impressive with his stroke play. Vasavada showed his class and kept the scoreboard ticking. Jani and Vasavada added 109 runs for the 7th wicket. Vasavada made a superb 139 and finally batsman to be dismissed. Saurashtra were bowled out for 274.

Saurashtra 304 in 127.4 overs ( Sheldon Jackson 103, Nagwasalla 5/81, Axar Patel 3/56) and 274 in 98.4 overs ( Arpit Vasavada 139, Chirag Jani 51, Chintan Gaja 7/71) beat Gujarat 252 in 87.3 overs ( Rujul Bhatt 71, Chintan Gaja 61, Jaydev Unadkat 3/86) and 234 in 72.2 overs ( Chirag Gandhi 96, Parthiv Patel 93, Unadkat 7/56) by 92 runs.

For his superb 139 runs in the 2nd innings, Arpit Vasavada was awarded the man of the match. This will be the fourth time that Saurashtra reached the finals of Ranji Trophy history in the last 8 years. Bengal will take on Saurashtra in the finals to be played at SCA Stadium, Rajkot from 9th March.