England vs Pakistan: PCB announces 20-man squad for England series

PCB announces 20-man squad for England series

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday announced the 20-man squad for the upcoming series against England starting with the first test from August 5. 

There has been some surprising inclusion as Wahab Riaz has been named in the Test squad. He will be playing a Test match for the first time since October 2018. The left-arm pacer had announced retirement from Test cricket but also quashed his retirement talks. 

Pacer Mohammad Amir has not been selected in the squad despite the speculation that the pacer could make a comeback from his retirement from the longest format of the game. 

The bowling unit would be spearheaded by Mohammad Abbas and Shaheen Afridi in the pace department while spinners Yasir Shah and Shadab Khan will be managing the spin attack.  

“I want to reassure the players and the official left behind that the PCB will provide them the best support and look after them during the quarantine period,” PCB chief executive Wasim Khan said in a statement.  

The PCB also faced challenges in drafting the squad as Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Kashif Bhatti and Imran Khan, and  Malang Ali again tested positive of the coronavirus. The board assured them of the full support during their quarantine period in England. 

“It needs to be remembered that these players were asymptomatic, which means their chances of regaining complete fitness are higher and brighter than most. As soon as these players test negative twice through the PCB testing process they will be flown to England to join the squad.” he further stated. 

Pakistan will be playing three tests and as many T20Is against England during the ongoing tour starting with the First test at Manchester. 

Pakistan’s 20-man squad: Azhar Ali (captain), Babar Azam, Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Ahmad, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Musa Khan, Naseem Shah, Rohail Nazir, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Usman Shinwari, Yasir Shah.