Dutch Club VOC Rotterdam Win Inaugural Edition of European Cricket League 2019

European Cricket League 2019 Winner

European Cricket League 2019 Winner:- Netherlands’ cricket club VOC Rotterdam has won the inaugural edition of European Cricket League, beating Romanian club SG Findorff in the final by a staggering 101 runs. This is the biggest victory margin in a T10 game.

European Cricket League 2019 Winner

Rotterdam beat home side Catalunya Cricket Club by 9 wickets in the semi-final to book a place in the final, while SG Findorff got the btetter of Svanholm Cricket Club to make it to the final.

Rotterdam came out to bat first and their openers went all guns blazing, scoring at over 20 runs an over. The duo batted till the end and posted a total of 222. Scott Edwards scored a century, getting 137 off just 39 balls, and was well supported by Max O’Dowd with a 25 ball 74 to take the team to a huge total.

Findorff tried hard, but were never really in the game and kept losing wickets at regular intervals to get away from the game. Ashraf and Amirie played some decent shots, and scored 31 and 45 respectively, to add some respectability to the Romanian side’s chase. However, Van Barent took a hattrick to pit findorff completely out of the game, thereby handing European Cricket League 2019 title to VOC Rotterdam.

The Dutch club have now entered the history books, becoming the first team to lift the European Cricket League title.

Rotterdam were undefeated during the tournament and were the strongest team on paper as well, comprising of players who have even featured at the International stage. Max O’Dowd, Pieter Seelar and Scott Edwards were the stars of the show for the Dutch side, right throughout the league.

The league was widely followed and generated interest in its inaugural season, and fans would hope for a bigger, longer league next time around.

The winners were awarded this piece of beauty that has been specially designed by ace designer Sanjay Sharma, who is an Indian origin designer, based in Germany.

German Daniel Weston saw the dream of this project and as it panned out, he must be very happy and excited, and would already be eyeing a grand second season of the European Cricket League.

European Cricket League 2019 featured 8 teams from across Europe, who were the domestic champions of their respective countries. They were divided into two groups and then based on the performances, made it through to the mini play-offs or the semi-final, and thereon.

Leave a Reply