Yuvraj Singh, Wasim Akram join Bushfire Cricket Bash

The Bushfire relief match is slowing shaping up to be a cracker as two more legends have signed up for the match. Former Pakistan skipper Wasim Akram and India’s Yuvraj Singh have joined the former cricketers to feature in the Bushfire relief match, which is set to be held on February 8.

yuvraj-singh-bushfire-charity-matchBushfire relief match will be a game that will be played to raise funds for those affected by the recent forest fires in Australia. There will be two teams and the teams are Ricky Ponting XI and Shane Warne XI. The match will act as a curtain-raiser to the Big Bash League final.

Apart from the cricketers, two legends in Australian sport have also joined in. Former Rugby star Brad ‘Freddy’ Fittler and Australian Rules Football player Luke Hodge will be part of the fundraising fixture.

shane-warne-sachin-tendulkarFormer Indian batsman and legend of the game Sachin Tendulkar named as the coach of Ponting XI while former West Indies fast bowler Courtney Walsh has been named as the coach of Warne XI.

Wasim and Yuvraj will team up with a host of former Australian cricketers – Andrew Symonds, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin and many more. In non-playing capacity, the two sides have Steve Waugh, Mel Jones and Rugby League’s Andrew ‘Joey’ Johns. Elyse Villani and Grace Harris, the women’s cricket players have also joined in.

Wasimakram-bushfire-charity-matchEarlier in the day, Australia and India will play their women’s T20I tri-series match in Melbourne before the relief match takes place ahead of the BBL final.

Meanwhile, the venue for the Big Bash League final will be announced on January 31 after the Qualifier takes place. The Melbourne Stars are confirmed as hosting that match and will face either the Sydney Sixers or the Adelaide Strikers which means the final will be at the MCG, SCG or Adelaide Oval on February 8.

Squad for the Bushfire Cricket Bash:

Shane Warne (capt), Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Alex Blackwell, Andrew Symonds, Brad Fittler, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Elyse Villani, Grace Harris, Justin Langer, Luke Hodge, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Phoebe Litchfield, Shane Watson, Wasim Akram, Yuvraj Singh.