IPL Anthem Songs

IPL anthem songs

IPL Anthem Songs

The anthem song of any country, event, tournament or team defines the soul, culture, diversity and loyalty and devotion towards its source. IPL (Indian Premier League) is no different, it is a tournament, where the cricket pitch becomes a battlefield and players become soldiers showcasing their skills and valour tow in the prestigious IPL trophy.

IPL anthem songs

Let’s rewind the memories 10 years back and relive to the original anthem IPL songs.

The IPL anthem song was composed by AR Rahman, the song was called “Cricket Ka Mahayudha” featuring the clips of the international Cricket superstars. The anthem set the tone of the IPL tournament as a Cricket World War.

The latest edition of IPL 2020 Theme Song – Ab Khel Bolega 

# Mumbai Indians Anthem Song

Mumbai Indians

Duniya Hila Denge Hum “Let’s rock the world” was composed by Tapas Relia and was written by Piyush Pandey. The video song featured Bollywood Superstar Hrithik Roshan and kid praising the strength and valour of the Mumbai Indians team.

The song was released a few weeks back before the start of inaugural IPL edition.


# Kolkata Knight Riders Anthem Song

Kolkata Knight Riders

The theme song of Kolkata Knight Riders Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo Recreated a euphoric wave across the nation in 2008. The crowd was going gala over. 10 years later, let’s relive the old memories of the original KKR IPL song.

The song was scored by Vishal Shekhar, the album was an amalgamation various singers and composers, including big names like Usha Uthup and Bappi Lahiri. The song itself featured Shahrukh Khan in Kolkata Knight Rider dress encouraging the team and crowd to act, fight and win.


# Chennai Super Kings Anthem Song

Despite all controversies and allegations, Chennai Super Kings is undoubtedly the most successful team in the IPL and has the biggest fan base in the country. The Chennai Super Kings album was released in 2009 both in Tamil and Hindi.

The album had five tracks composed by Mani Sharma (theme track), GV Prakash (the celebrated nephew of Oscar winner AR Rahman) and Bharatwaj.

The singers were Chitra, Naveen, Rahul and Ranjeet, but the highlight of the album was Mahendra Singh Dhoni rap.


# Sunrises Hyderabad Anthem Song

Sunrises Hyderabad was the most exciting team of the inaugural IPL edition, the team had the likes of David Warner, Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

The Sunrises Hyderabad IPL song was sung by G.V Prakash rejuvenating the fighting spirit within and savouring the taste of win and glory. The team anthem lyric goes “GO GO GO GO GO GO GO GO, GO HERE WE GO WE’RE THE #OrangeArmy.


 # Royal Challengers Bangalore Anthem Song

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore was the most opulent lavish and flamboyant team of the tournament in 2008, inspired from the co-team owner Vijay Mallaya. The RCB IPL song 2008 was “Jeetenge Hum Shaan Se” composed by Amit Trivedi.

The album featured the entire Royal challengers Bangalore team emerging from the smoke and flaunting their never say die attitude. Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli and Anil Kumble were in the main lead.


# Rajasthan Royals Anthem Song

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals was the most underrated team of the IPL 2008, but despite all criticism, the team proved its mettle and won the inaugural IPL trophy. The Rajasthan Royals IPL song “Halla Bol” depicted the vibrance and colour of Rajasthani soil.

The video song featured the market, streets and local ambience of Rajasthan.


# Kings XI Punjab Anthem Song

Kings XI Punjab

Kings XI Punjab displayed the colourful exuberance of Punjab and entire northern India with Punjabi kudi Preity Zinta being the franchise co-owner. The Kings XI Punjab IPL song highlighted the dhol, bhangra and entire Kings XI team. The anthem song was composed and sung by Daler Mehendi.


# Delhi Capitals Anthem Song

First, as Delhi Daredevils now known as Delhi Capitals are the dark horse of the IPL and even managed to reach the semifinals. The lyrics of the DC IPL song was “Roar Macha” encouraging the team to play fearless cricket and win the respect and love of the crowd.

The video featured Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant in the lead practising with the team. The Anthem song was sung and composed by Amit Trivedi.

Leave a Reply