UEFA Champions League 2022-23 Draw: Bayern Munich vs Barcelona | Manchester City vs Borussia Dortmund

On Thursday, UEFA Champions league draw took place and many old foes will be facing in the group stage. As Bayern Munich was matched in the same group as Robert Lewandowski’s new home Barcelona and newly signed star Erling Haaland will face his former home club Borussia Dortmund as Manchester City and Dortmund were placed in the same group G.

Six times European champions, Liverpool will face Scottish side Rangers FC in the same group. Meanwhile Dutch Champions Ajax FC and Napoli were placed in the same group.

In the Group F, Last year champions Real Madrid who made a record breaking 14th European Champions when they defeated Liverpool in the last season finals will take on Bundesliga side RB Leipzig, Celtic and Shakhtar Donetsk.

Newly Barcelona Super striker, Robert Lewandowski will face his former club in the group stage as Barcelona was drawn with German champions, Bayern Munich in the group C.

Barcelona-Bayern had a history in Champions League as last time when they faced each other, Bayern defeated Catalans 8-2 in quarter finals. This was the worst defeat Barcelona has ever tested.

Robert Lewandowski who signed for the Catalans side during this season for heavy fee around 50 million euros after scoring a record breaking 344 goals for Bayern Munich in his 8 years spell.

“Only football writes such stories,” said Bayern sporting director Hasan Salihamidzic.

“Barcelona have got stronger. ‘Lewy’ is there. They’ve done a thing or two in the transfer market. There will be some exciting games.”

The league knockout matches will start from February and the final will take in Ataturk Olympic Stadium held in Turkey on June 10th.


Group A Group B Group C Group D Group E Group F Group G Group H
Ajax Porto Bayern Munich Eintracht Frankfurt AC Milan Real Madrid Manchester City Paris St Germain
Liverpool Atletico Madrid Barcelona Tottenham Hotspur Chelsea RB Leipzig Sevilla FC Juventus
Napoli Bayer Leverkusen Inter Milan Sporting Lisbon Salzburg Shakhtar Donetsk Borussia Dortmund Benfica
Rangers Brugge Viktoria Plzen Marseille Dinamo Zagreb Celtic FC Copenhagen Maccabi Haifa