The Manchester City History, Ownership, Net Worth, Squad members, Support Staff And Honors


The Manchester City Football Club, also known as the Sky Blues, The Citizens and City, is an English Football club situated in Manchester. They participate in the top tier of English football which is the English Premier League. Apart from that, they also play in the FA Cup, EFL Cup, and FA Community shield.


Manchester City was founded 139 years ago in 1880 as St. Mark’s, but over time its name varied. It was Ardwick Association Football Club in 1887 before it became The Manchester City Football Club in 1894. The club was formed under the name of St. Mark’s, after the rector of St Mark’s Church Arthur Connell and his daughter took the initiative in 1880.

By 1899, Manchester City became a popular club, with a super enthusiastic fan base that followed the Club wherever it went. The club won their first trophy (FA Cup) in 1904 under the management of English footballer Joe Mercer and Malcolm Alison.

Manchester City’s home ground has been changed seven times. The club’s current home ground is Etihad Stadium which is the fifth-largest ground in Premier League and tenth-largest in the United Kingdom. It has been the home ground of the club since 2003.

Club Ownership

The City Football Group currently holds the ownership of Manchester city. The group is a holding company that administrates association Football clubs under the ownership of Abu Dhabi United Group majorly

The Group was founded in the summer of 2008 by Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan who wanted to take over Manchester City Football Club from the former Prime Minister of Thailand Thaksin Shinawatra.

On 4th August 2008, Sheikh Mansour finally bought Manchester City for 210 Million Euros and later gave it in the hands of the City Football Group co-created by his own Abu Dhabi United Group. Currently, according to Forbes magazine, the net worth of Manchester City is around 1 Billion Euros.


Name Position Age
Pep Guardiola Manager 48
Brian Kidd Assistant Manager 70
Rodolfo Borrell Assistant Manager 48
Mikel Arteta Assistant Manager 37
Xabier Mancisidor Goalkeeping Coach 49
Lorenzo Buenaventura Fitness Coach 56
Umut Koc Youth Coach 32
Charles Planchart Video Analyst 53


Name Position Age
Txiki Begiristain Director of Football 55
Brain Marwood Chief Executive Officer 59


Name Position Age
Carlo Cancellieri Chief Scout 43
Jan RickRicka Scout 56
Sebastian Arnesen Scout 36
Hans van Wassem Youth Scout
Jim Cassell Youth Co-ordinator


Name Position Age
Edu Mauri Club Doctor 58


Jason Wilcox Academy Manager 48


Name Position Jersey No.
Riyad Mahrez Forward 26
Raheem Sterling Forward 7
Sergio Aguero Forward 10
Gabriel Jesus Forward 9
Leroy Sane Forward 19
Ilkay Gudogan Midfielders 8
Kevin De Bruyne Midfielders 17
Bernardo Silva Midfielders 20
David Silva Midfielders 21
Fernandinho Midfielders 25
Phil Foden Midfielders 47
Rodrigo Midfielders 16
Adrian Bernabe Midfielders not assigned
Kyle Walker Defenders 2
John Stones Defenders 5
Aymeric Laporte Defenders 14
Benjamin Mendy Defenders 22
Nicolas Otamendi Defenders 30
Oleksandr Zinchenko Defenders 11
Angelino Defenders 12
Joao Cancelo Defenders 27
Eric Garcia Defenders 50
Taylor Harwood Bellis Defenders 72
Alpha Richard Dionkou Defenders 88
Claudio Bravo GoalKeepers 1
Ederson GoalKeepers 31
Daniel Grimshaw GoalKeepers 32
Scott Carson GoalKeepers 33



The club has 6 Premier League titles and 7 Championship titles to their name. Championship is the second tier of English Football.


The Club has won the FA Cup, the EFL Cup, and the FA Community Shield six times each.

European Glory

The Club has also won UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup once in 1969-70.


Leave a Reply