Atletico Madrid History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors

Club Atlético de Madrid also known as Atletico Madrid is a Spanish Club based in Madrid that plays top-flight football in La Liga. The club’s home ground is Metropolitano Stadium which can accommodate 68,546 audiences. The club wears traditional red and white stripe jersey for their home matches.


Atletico Madrid was founded on 26th of April 1903, the club was founded by three Basque students that lived in Madrid. Earlier it was named Athletic Club Sucursal de Madrid, it was originated by their youth team athletic Bilbao. In 1904 they were also members of Real Madrid.

They started playing in blue and white halved jerseys same as Athletic Bilbao’s shirts later in 1911, both Athletic Bilbao and Athletico Madrid changed it to red and white which they are wearing till date.


There are three owners of the club, Miguel Angel Gil Margin that owns 51%, Idan Ofer owns 30% and Enrique Cerezo owns 19% of the club.

863m Euros is the current squad value of the club

Coaching Staff

Name Position Age
Diego Simeone Manager 49
Nelson Vivas Assistant Manager 50
German Burgos Assistant Coach 50
Pablo Vercellone Goalkeeping Manager 51
Oscar Ortega Fitness Manager 61
Carlos Menendez Technical Assistant 45
Daniel Aranzubia Technical Assistant 49


Medical Staff

Name Position Age
Danieal Doctor 40
Oscar Luis Doctor 43
Ivan Ortega Physiotherapist 55
Jesus Vasquez Physiotherapist 54
Asteban Arevalo Physiotherapist 49
David Loras Physiotherapist 59
Jose Maria Villalon Head Of Medical Staff 60
Oscar Pitillas Rehabilitation Physio 37
Alferdo Jarodich Rehabilitation Physio 42






Name Position Age
Andrea Berta Sporting Director 48
Pedro Pablo Head Of Operations 59
Enrique Cerezo President 72



Name Position Jersey No.
Joan Oblak Goalkeeper 13
Antonio Adan Goalkeeper 1
Jose Giminez Defender 2
Santiago Arias Defender 4
Renan Lod Defender 12
Stefan Savic Defender 15
Felipe Defender 18
Mario Hermoso Defender 22
Kieran Trippier Defender 23
Thomas Partey Midfielder 5
Jorge Koke Midfielder 6
Saul Niguez Midfielder 8
Thomas Lemar Midfielder 11
Marcos Llorente Midfielder 14
Hector Herrera Midfielder 16
Vitolo Perez Midfielder 20
Yannick Corrasco Midfielder 21
Joao Felix Forward 7
Alvaro Morata Forward 9
Angel Correa Forward 10
Ivan Saponjic Forward 17
Diego Costa Forward 19




La LIga

Winners (10): 1939-40, 1940-41, 1949-50, 1950-51, 1965-66, 1969-70, 1972-73, 1976-77, 1995-96, 2013-14

Segunda Division

Winners (1): 2001-02


Copa del Rey

Winners (10): 1959-60, 1960-61, 1964-65, 1971-71, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1995-96, 2013-14

Super Copa de Espana

Winners (2): 1985, 2014


UEFA Champions league

Runners-up (3): 1973-74, 2013-14, 2015-16

European Cup

Winners (1): 1961-62

UEFA Europa League

Winners (3): 2009-10, 2011-12, 2017-18

UEFA Super Cup

Winners (3): 2010, 2012, 2018