Dortmund History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors




Ballspielverein Borussia 09 e.V. Dortmund, commonly known as Borussia Dortmund BVB, or essentially Dortmund, is a German proficient sports club based in Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia. It is best known for its men’s professional football group, which plays within the Bundesliga, the top level of the German football association framework. The club has won eight league championships, four DFB-Pokals, one UEFA Champions League, one Interconversion Cup, and one UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.

Established in 1909 by eighteen football players from Dortmund, the football group is the portion of an expansive membership-based sports club with more than 145,000 individuals, making Borussia Dortmund the moment’s biggest sports club by participation in Germany. Since 1974, Dortmund has played its domestic diversions at Westfalenstadion; the stadium is the biggest in Germany, and Dortmund has the most noteworthy average attendance of any association football club within the world. Borussia Dortmund’s colours are dark and yellow, giving the club its epithet pass on Schwarzgelben.[The club has dynamic divisions in other sports, specifically in women’s handball, and holds a long-standing contention with Ruhr neighbours Schalke 04, known as the Revierderby. They too compete in Der Klassiker with the individual German club, Bayern Munich.

In terms of Deloitte’s yearly Football Cash Alliance, Dortmund was positioned as the second wealthiest sports club in Germany, and the 12th wealthiest football team in the world. Additionally, under the directorship of Michael Zorc in the 2010s, Dortmund has developed a reputation for spotting and creating youthful ability, and have remained centred on creating a youth system. They have moreover gotten acclamations forby and large following to an attacking footballing philosophy


The club was established on 19 December 1909 by a bunch of youthful men unhappy with the Catholic church-sponsored Trinity Youth, where they played football beneath the strict and unsympathetic eye of the nearby ward priest. The priest, Father Dewald was blocked at the entryway when he attempted to break up the sorting out assembly being held in a room of the neighbourhood bar, Zum Wildschütz. The founders were Franz and Paul Braun, Henry Cleve, Hans Debest, Paul Dziendzielle, Franz, Julius and Wilhelm Jacobi, Hans Kahn, Gustav Müller, Franz Risse, Fritz Schulte, Hans Siebold, Eminent Tönnesmann, Heinrich and Robert Unger, Fritz Weber and Franz Wendt. The title Borussia is Latin for Prussia but was taken from Borussia beer from the nearby Borussia brewery in Dortmund. The group started playing in blue and white striped shirts with a ruddy scarf, and dark shorts. In 1913, they wore dark and yellow stripes so commonplace nowadays.


Borussia Dortmund GmbH & Co. KGaA
Member Position
Hans-Joachim Watzke Chairman of the management
managing director for sport, communications and human resources
Thomas Treß Managing director for the organization, finance, and facilities
Carsten Cramer Managing director for sales, marketing and digitalization
Michael Zorc Segment director for sport
Sascha Fligge Segment director for communications
Reinhard Beck Segment director for human resources
Dr. Christian Hockenjos Segment director for the organisation
Marcus Knipping Segment director for finance and facilities
Supervisory board
Member Note
Gerd Pieper Chairman of the supervisory board
Managing shareholder of Stadt-Parfümerie Pieper GmbH Parfümerie International, Herne
Bernd Geske Managing partner of Bernd Geske Lean Communication, Meerbusch
A major shareholder of Borussia Dortmund GmbH & Co. KGaA
Bjørn Gulden Chief executive officer of PUMA SE, Herzogenaurach
Christian Kullmann Chairman of the executive board of Evonik Industries, Essen
Ulrich Leitermann Member and chairman of the managing boards of group parent companies of the Signal Iduna Group
Dr. Reinhold Lunow Internist, medical director and partner of Internistische Naturheilkundliche Gemeinschaftspraxis, Bornheim
treasurer of Ballspielverein Borussia 09 e. V. Dortmund since 20 November 2005
Silke Seidel Chief executive officer of Dortmunder Stadtwerke Aktiengesellschaft
Peer Steinbrück Senior adviser of the board directors of ING-DiBa AG, Frankfurt am Main
Federal Minister of Finance from 2005 to 2009, member of the Bundestag from 2009 to 2016


Coaching Staff

Name Position
Coaching staff
 Lucien Favre Head coach
 Otto Addo Assistant coach
 Manfred Stefes Assistant coach
 Edin Terzić Assistant coach
 Matthias Kleinsteiber Goalkeeping coach



Athletic department
 Andreas Beck Athletic coach
 Anke Steffen Athletic coach
 Florian Wangler Athletic coach
Medical department
 Dr. Markus Braun First team doctor
 Swantje Thomßen Rehabilitation coach
 Thorben Voeste Rehabilitation coach
 Olaf Wehmer Rehabilitation coach
 Thomas Zetzmann Rehabilitation coach
Scouting & recruitment
 Kai-Norman Schulz Coordinator sports technology
 Serdar Ayar Video analyst
 Markus Pilawa Chief scout
 Benjamin Frank Scout
 Sebastian Frank Scout
 Jan Heidermann Scout
 Artur Płatek Scout
 Waldemar Wrobel Scout
Organisation & management
 Michael Zorc Director of football
 Sebastian Kehl Head of first-team football
 Ingo Preuß Head of reserve-team football
 Wolfgang Springer Head of youth department
 Lars Ricken Youth coordinator
Mike Tullberg Head coach Borussia Dortmund II
 Michael Skibbe Under 19s coach
 Matthias Sammer External advisor
 Suresh Letchmanan Head of BVB Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd.
 Benjamin Wahl Head of BVB China
 Patrick Owomoyela International ambassador
 Karl-Heinz Riedle International ambassador
 Roman Weidenfeller International ambassador
 Norbert Dickel Stadium announcer
 Teddy de Beer Fan relations manager
 Sigfried Held Fan relations manager
 Frank Gräfen Kit manager



No. Position Player
1 GK Roman Bürki
2 DF Dan-Axel Zagadou
5 DF Achraf Hakimi (on loan from Real Madrid)
6 MF Thomas Delaney
7 MF Jadon Sancho
8 MF Mahmoud Dahoud
10 MF Mario Götze
11 FW Marco Reus (captain)
13 DF Raphaël Guerreiro
14 DF Nico Schulz
15 DF Mats Hummels
16 DF Manuel Akanji
17 FW Erling Braut Håland
18 DF Leonardo Balerdi
19 MF Julian Brandt
22 DF Mateu Morey
23 MF Thorgan Hazard
25 GK Luca Unbehaun
26 DF Łukasz Piszczek
27 MF Emre Can (on loan from Juventus)
28 MF Axel Witsel
29 DF Marcel Schmelzer
32 MF Giovanni Reyna
35 GK Marwin Hitz
37 MF Tobias Raschl
40 GK Eric Oelschlägel




German Championship/Bundesliga

Winners: 1956, 1957, 1963, 1994–95, 1995–96, 2001–02, 2010–11, 2011–12

Runners-up: 1949, 1961, 1965–66, 1991–92, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2015–16, 2018–19

  1. Bundesliga North

Runners-up: 1975–76


Winners: 1964–65, 1988–89, 2011–12, 2016–17

Runners-up: 1962–63, 2007–08, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2015–16


Winners: 1989, 1995, 1996, 2013, 2014, 2019

Runners-up: 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017


Runners-up: 2003


Oberliga West/West German Championship

Winners: 1947–48, 1948–49, 1949–50, 1952–53, 1955–56, 1956–57 (record)

Runners-up: 1960–61, 1962–63

Westphalia Cup

Winners: 1947


UEFA Champions League

Winners: 1996–97

Runners-up: 2012–13

UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup

Winners: 1965–66


Runners-up: 1992–93, 2001–02

UEFA Super Cup

Runners-up: 1997

UEFA club coefficient ranking


Intercontinental Cup

Winners: 1997