NorthEast United FC History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff And Honors

NorthEast United FC, also known as The Highlanders, is an Indian professional football club that plays in the Indian Super League under the license provided in the shade of the All India Football Federation.


NorthEast United was founded five years ago on 13th April, 2014 after the All India Football Federation, the main body behind the association football in India and IMG-Reliance announced the ownership bids of the eight selected teams upon the inaugural season of the Indian Super League.

The Club Itself is very special as it represents eight states namely Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Meghalaya, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, and Mizoram. Thus, it is the first-ever Indian club which doesn’t represent any city, but a region.

Club Ownership

The Club is owned by the Bollywood actor John Abraham and Shillong Lajong Football Club, but the majority of the shares lies with John. The first manager of the club was New Zealander Ricki Herbert who had previously represented and managed his national team during world Cups. The net worth of the club is around 5.18 million Euros.

The club won its first ISL match at the Indira Gandhi Stadium, against the Kerala Blasters, but wasn’t able to make the end-of-season play-offs and finished last among the eight teams that season.

The Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, also known as Sarusajai Stadium, serves as the home ground of Northeast United FC. The stadium has a net capacity of 35,000 which was later reduced to 23,850 due to the installation of bucket seats for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup.


Name Position Age
Robert Jarni Head Coach 50
Sasa Glavas Assistant Coach 47
Khalid Jamil Assistant Coach 42
Sandip Nandy Goalkeeping Coach 44
Jose Carlos Strengthening and Conditioning Coach


Name  Position Jersey No.
Asamoah Gyan Forward 37
Martin Chaves Forward 9
Maximiliano Barreiro Forward 19
Alfred Lalruotsang Midfielder 30
Jose Leudo Midfielder 6
Ninthoi Midfielder 7
Lalengmawia Midfielder 45
Lalrempuia Fanai Midfielder 13
Lalthathanga Khawlhring Midfielder 32
Milan Singh Midfielder 8
Nikhil Kadam Midfielder 23
Panagiotis Midfielder 21
Redem Tlang Midfielder 22
Heerings Kai Defender 14
Reagan Singh Defender 12
Mislav Komorski Defender 15
Nim Dorjee Defender 29
Pawan Kumar Defender 5
Provat Lakra Defender 4
Rakesh Pradhan Defender 33
Shouvik Ghosh Defender 26
Wayne Vaz Defender 2
Pawan Kumar GoalKeeper 1
Soram Poirei GoalKeeper 16
Subhasish Roy GoalKeeper 99

Leave a Reply