Chennaiyin FC History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff And Honors

Chennaiyin FC

Chennaiyin FC is an Indian professional Football Club that plays in the Indian Super League under the license provided in the shade of the All India Football Federation.


Chennaiyin FC was founded five years ago on 28th August 2014, after the All India Football Federation, the main body behind the association Football in India and IMG-Reliance announced the ownership bids of the eight selected teams upon the inaugural season of the Indian Super League.

The logo of Chennaiyin FC is known as Dhrishti Bommai which, according to Tamil culture, is the representation of chasing away negativity and preserving positivity.

Club Ownership

The Club is currently owned by the Bollywood star Abhishek Bachchan, son of Amitabh Bachchan, Vita Dani and the former Indian Captain M.S Dhoni.

The story behind the ownership of the club is very interesting. As the ISL was founded in 2014, Chennai was proposed as one of the nine cities up for franchise bidding, but Chennai’s main bidder Sunil Gavaskar dropped out due to commitments with the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Before the 2014 ISL season due to disputes with the organizers, the Sun Group also backed off from purchasing the ownership of the club. Finally, it was revealed that Ronnie Screwvala and Abhishek Bachchan together bid for the Chennai team and became its owner. M S Dhoni also joined them later.

The Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, also known as the Marina Arena, serves as the home ground of the Chennaiyin FC.


Name Position Age
John Gregory Head Coach 66
Syed Sabir Pasha Assistant Coach 46
Karanjit Singh Goalkeeping Coach 33
Amoy Ghoshal Chief Tech, Officer


NameĀ  Position Jersey No.
Andre Schembri Forward 27
Jeje Lalpekhluna Forward 12
Nerijus Valskis Forward 9
Rahim Ali Forward 24
Anirudh Thapa Midfielder 15
Dhanpal Ganesh Midfielder 17
Dragos Firtulescu Midfielder 10
Edwin Vanspaul Midfielder 8
Germanpreet Singh Midfielder 28
Thoi Singh Midfielder 11
Lallianzuala Chhangte Midfielder 7
Rafel Crivellaro Midfielder 50
Deepak Tangri Defender 22
Eli Sabia Defender 13
Hendry Antony Defender 35
Jerry Lalrinzula Defender 18
Laldinliana Rentlei Defender 26
Lucian Goian Defender 6
Masih Saighani Defender 5
Tondonba Defender 3
Remi Defender 23
Ralte Defender 25
Karanjit Singh GoalKeeper 1
Sanjiban Ghosh GoalKeeper 33
Vishal kaith GoalKeeper 31




The Club holds

  • 2 Indian Super League titles, ISL of 2015 and ISL of 2017-18 season





Leave a Reply