Atletico de Kolkata History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff And Honors

Times of India

Atletico de Kolkata, commonly known as ATK, is an Indian professional Football club that plays in the Indian Super League under the license provided in the shade of All India Football Federation.


ATK was founded five years ago on 7th May, 2014 after the All India Football Federation, the main body behind the association football in India and IMG-Reliance announced the ownership bids of the eight selected teams upon the inaugural season of the Indian Super League.

It is one of the most expensive franchises which was purchased for 180 million Indian Rupees in the bid won by Sourav Ganguly, Harshavarhan Neotia, Sanjiv Goenka, Utsav Parekh and Spanish La Liga side Atletico Madrid.

The Club won its first match under Coach Antonio Lopez. They were the winners of the inaugural season of ISL as they beat the Kerala Blasters in the final by 1-0.

Club Ownership

The ownership of the team is currently in the hands of the Kolkata Games and Sports Pvt Ltd. a consortium made especially to oversee the administration and operations of ATK. The consortium comprises the former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly, businessmen Harshvardhan Neotia, Sanjiv Goenka and Utsav. The net worth of ATK is around 6.43 million Euros.

For the initial few seasons, the Atletico Madrid was also a part of the Consortium, but later Goenka bought the shares owned by the La Liga Club.

The Salt Lake Stadium serves as the home ground of the team. The stadium has the capacity to hold 85,000 spectators and currently is the largest stadium in India in terms of seating capacity.


Name Position Age
 Antonio López Habas Head Coach 62
 Manuel Cascallana Assistant Coach
 Sanjoy Sen Assistant Coach 58
Alvaro Ros Bernal Physical Trainer


Name Position Age
Subrata Talukdar Director (Techincal Area) 59
Saharsh Parekh Director
Subhrangshu Chakraborty Director
Sunil Bhandari Director


Name  Position Jersey No.
Balwant Singh Forward 15
David Williams Forward 9
Edu Garcia Forward 10
Jayesh Rane Forward 16
Jobby Justin Forward 22
Komal Thatal Forward 7
Michael Soosairaj Forward 23
Roy Krishna Forward 21
Carl McHugh Midfielders 8
Javier Hernande Midfielders 19
Pronay Halder Midfielders 17
Sehnaj Singh Midfielders 26
Agustin Iniguez Defender 14
Anas Edathodika Defender 30
Anil Chawan Defender 5
Ankit Mukerjee Defender 28
John Johnson Defender 4
Parabir das Defender 33
Pritam Kotal Defender 20
Sumit Rathi Defender 2
Arindam Bhattacharya GoalKeeper 29
Dheeraj Singh GoalKeeper 1
Lara GoalKeeper 31



The Club holds

  • 2 Indian Super League titles



Leave a Reply