Mumbai City FC History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff And Honors

DNA India

Mumbai City FC, also known as The Islanders, is an Indian professional Football club that plays in the Indian Super League under the license provided in the shade of All India Football Federation.


Mumbai City FC was founded five years ago on 30th August, 2014 after the All India Football Federation, the main body behind the association football in India and IMG-Reliance announced the ownership bids of the eight selected teams upon the inaugural season of the Indian Super League.

During the initial years of ISL, Mumbai City competed with FC Pune City in what the fans called the “Maharashtrian Derby”.  They were the only two clubs which had emerged from a single state due to which an elite rivalry was seen between the two teams.

But, the FC Pune City doesn’t participate in the ISL anymore which makes the Mumbai City FC the only club representing the Maharashtra State.

Mumbai City FC played its first match on 12th October, 2014 against the ATK which resulted in a 3-0 loss. On 18th October 2014, the team registered its first win by defeating FC Pune City in Mumbai by 5-0.

Club Ownership

The Club is currently owned by the Bollywood actor Ranbir Kapoor and the chartered accountant Bimal Parekh.

Jorge Paulo Costa Almeida is the current Manager of the team who is a Portuguese retired Footballer. The net worth of the club is around 5.05 million Euros.

The Mumbai Football Arena, located in Andheri Sports complex, serves as the club’s home ground. The stadium has the capacity to hold 7,960 spectators. On 3rd of September, the Indian national Football team played a FIFA International friendly match there.


Name Position Age
Jorge Costa Head Coach 50
Anthony Fernandes Assistant Coach 47
Marco Leite Assistant Coach 42
Pedro Correia Goalkeeping Coach 44
Watson Fernandes Director of Football


Name  Position Jersey No.
Amine Chermiti Forward 37
Modou Sougou Forward 9
Bidyananda Singh Midfielder 12
Bipin Singh Midfielder 29
Diego Carlos Midfielder 18
Mohamed Larbi Midfielder 21
Mohammed Rafique Midfielder 8
Paulo Machado Midfielder 10
Pranjal Bhumij Midfielder 17
Raynier Fernandes Midfielder 11
Rowllin Borges Midfielder 14
Serge Kevyn Midfielder 7
Sourav Das Midfielder 5
Surchandra Singh Midfielder 27
Vignesh Midfielder 19
Anwar Ali Defender 3
Valuia Defender 31
Mato Grgic Defender 4
Pratik Chaudhari Defender 2
Sarthak Golui Defender 16
Sauvik Chakrabati Defender 23
Subhasish Bose Defender 15
Amrinder Singh GoalKeeper 1
Kunal sawat GoalKeeper 30
Ravi Kumar GoalKeeper 22



Mumbai City FC has bagged an ISL title yet.




Leave a Reply