Let us divert our attention towards Paralympics 2020 in detail

Paralympic Games

As now Olympics 2020 is over its high time to focus our attention towards Paralympics 2020 in detail where approx 43 Indian contingents will be representing nation in 9 sports categories in Paralympics 2020.

The event will be held in Tokyo unlike Summer Olympics and it is all set to start from August 24th 2021 to September 5th 2021 and like Summer Olympics the upcoming Paralympics will also take place in four years.

However in the upcoming year of Paralympics badminton and Taekwondo making their debut  along with other regular games.  There are 10 eligible impairments that is must a player must have to take part in Paralympics which includes Impaired muscle power, Impaired passive range of movement, limb deficiency, Leg length difference, Short stature and Muscle tension.

Let’s have a look at Indian contigents list who will be taking part in Paralympics 2020 in detail:



  • Harvinder Singh (Recurve individual open)
  • Vivek Chikara (Recurve individual open)
  • Rakesh Kumar (Compound individual open)
  • Shyam Sundar Swami (Compound individual open)


  • Jyoti Baliyan (Compound individual open)


Athletics: Around 17 Indian athletes will be representing nation in Paralympics and that list also includes one reserved player.  All the athletes who will be representing India in Paralympics 2020 have qualified based on the performance in 2019 Para Athletic Championship held in Dubai.


  • Devendra Jhajharia, Ajeet Singh, and Sundar Singh Gurjar (all javelin F-46),
  • Sandeep Chaudhary and Sumit (both javelin F-64),
  • Mariyappan Thangavelu, Sharad Kumar, and Varun Singh Bhatti (all high jump T-63),
  • Amit Kumar and Dharambir (both club throw F-51),
  • Nishad Kumar and Ram Pal (both high jump T-47),
  • Sonam Rana (shot put F-57),
  • Navdeep (javelin F-41),
  • Praveen Kumar (high jump T-64),
  • Yogesh Kathuniya (discus throw F-56),
  • Vinod Kumar (discus throw F-56),
  • Ranjeet Bhati (javelin F-57),
  • Arvind (shot put F-35),
  • Tek Chand (javelin F-54).


  • Ekta Bhyan and Kashish Lakra (both club throw F-51)
  • Bhagyashri Jadhav (shot put F-34)
  • Simran (100m T-13).


Sandi Sanjay Sagar (men’s javelin F-64).

Badminton: As we have told have earlier, Badminton will be making its debut in this Paralympics 2020 let’s revealed the players in the marquee event.



  • Pramod Bhagat
  • Manoj Sarkar
  • Tarun Dhillon
  • Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj
  • Krishna Nagar


  • Paul Parmar, Palak Kohli (Women’s doubles)


Para Canoeing:  This will be the first time that an Indian player will making its debut in Paralympics 2020 and that player would be Prachi Yadav.


The other sports categories where Indian player will be competing and wrestling are as follows


We have only a couple of players participating in this category.


Jaideep Deswal (Men’s 65kgs)


Sakina Khatun (Women’s 50kgs)


The Indian shooters qualified for this event on the basis of their performance at the 2018 World Shooting Para Sport Championships, 2018 World Shooting Para Sport World Cup, Châteauroux, 2019 World Shooting Para Sport World Cup, Al Ain, and 2019 World Shooting Para Sport Championships, Sydney.


  • Manish Narwal (10m air pistol)
  • Deepender Singh (10m air pistol)
  • Singhraj (10m air pistol)
  • Swaroop Mahavir Unhalkar (10m air rifle standing)
  • Deepak Saini (50m rifle positions, 10m air rifle standing)


  • Rubin Francis (10m air pistol)
  • Avani Lekhara (10m air rifle, 50m air rifle)


  • Rahul Jakhar, Akash (25m pistol)
  • Manish Narwal, Singhraj, Akash (50m pistol)
  • Deepak Saini, Sidhartha Babu, Avani Lekhara (10m air rifle)
  • Avani Lekhara, Deepak Saini, Siddhartha Babu (50m air rifle)


  • Niranjan Mukundan (50m Butterfly)
  • Suyash Jadhav (50m Butterfly, 200m individual medley)

Table Tennis:

  • Sonalben Madhubhai Patel
  • Bhavina Hasmukhbhai Patel


  • Aruna Singh Tomar (Women’s 44-49kgs)

Let’s hope that Indian players do wonder in the upcoming Paralympics and bring laurels for the nation.