River Plate History, Ownership, Squad members, Support Staff and Honors

AS English

River Plate, also known as the Stripe, is an Argentine professional Football club. They participate in the Primera Division, Copa Argentina and Copa Libertadores.


River Plate was formed 118 years ago on 25 May 1901, after two clubs Santa Rose and La Rosales were merged. Leopoldo Bard was made the first president of the club.

Famous for their passing game, the club played its first official match in 1905, in the third division. After three years, the Club’s performance improved as it was promoted to the first division.

During the 1930s and 1940s, the club was nicknamed Los Millinarios due to several expensive players transfers. The transfers thus in future were proven worthy.

Juan Carlos Muñoz, José Manuel Moreno, Adolfo Pedernera, Ángel Labruna, and Félix Loustau, the five attacking players of the club during 1941-1949 helped the club achieve one of the top three places in the league every year.

During such a period, the team won four Leagues and became four-time runners up as well. The era of the club is commonly known as La Maquina (The Machine).

Club Ownership

The club, which is worth 154 Million Euros, is owned by the Atletico River Plate sports club. The Chairman of the club is Rodolfo D’Onofrio.

Since the origin of the club, it has changed its home ground five times. Currently, the Antonio V. Liberti serves as the home ground of the club from 1938.


Name Position Age
Marcelo Gallardo Head Coach 43
Alberto Montes Goalkeeping Coach
Carlos Bustamante Fitness Coach
Gabriel Perrone Youth Coach  54
Hernan Diaz Head of Academy Coach  54


Name  Position Jersey No.
Lucas Beltrán Forward 34
Ignacio Scocco Forward 32
Ignacio Scocco Forward 7
Lucas Pratto Forward 27
Santos Borré Forward 19
J. Álvarez Forward 9
Benjamín Rollheiser Forward 18
S. Sosa Midfielder 13
B. Zuculini Midfielder 5
L. Ponzio Midfielder 23
E. Palacios Midfielder 15
C. Ferreira Midfielder 21

                                          E. Pérez

Midfielder 24
J. Quintero Midfielder 10
I. Fernández Midfielder 26
N. De La Cruz Midfielder 11
  P. Díaz Defender 6
L. Martínez Defender 28
Javier Pinola Defender 22
Milton Casco Defender 20
Gonzalo Montiel Defender 29
Elías López Defender 17
F. Armani GoalKeeper 1
G. Lux GoalKeeper 14
Enrique Bologna GoalKeeper 25



The club holds:

  • 36 Primera Division titles
  • 1 Primera B nacional title
  • 1 Segunda Division titile
  • 2 Copa Argentina titles
  • 1 Supercopa Argentina
  • 1 Copa Campeonato


The Club holds:

  • 1 Intercontinental title
  • 4 Copa Libertadores titles
  • 1 Copa Interamericana title
  • 3 Recopa Sudamerucana titles


Leave a Reply