Boca Juniors History, Ownership, Squad members, Support Staff and Honors

Boca Juniors, also known as Genoese, is an Argentine professional Football club. They participate in the Primera Division and Copa Argentina.


Boca Juniors was formed 114 years ago on 3rd April 1905 by five Italian immigrants. During the initial days, the club played in Darsena Sur, the same place where River Plate played.

Inspired by Juventus, the club adopted the same pattern jersey, the only difference was the color. Their Jerseys were blue with horizontal yellow bands.

After six long years since its origin, the club won the national league. With time, the club won their first and second Copa Libertadores, but they also faced economic crisis at the same time due to which they were not able to pay Diego Maradona’s next installment and had to sell him to Barcelona.

The Club suffered economic depression for around 10 years and in these years, they didn’t win any title. From 1993, the condition of the club started improving under new manager Oscar Tabarez

Club Ownership

The club doesn’t have one owner. The Football club is a part of the Club Atletico Boca Juniors sports club which has other active departments in sports like karate, wrestling, swimming, etc.

Daniel Angelici is the president of Boca Juniors. He was elected as the president in December 2011, the day when Boca Juniors were becoming champions against Banfield.

The club has changed its home ground six times since its origin. Currently, La Bombonera serves as the home ground of the club. The stadium can hold 49,000 spectators.

The current net worth of the club is 5.9 Million dollars.


Name Position Age
Gustavo Alfaro Head Coach 57
Carlos Gonzalez Assistant Coach 55
Sergio Chiarelli Coditioning Coach 55
Javier Valdecantos Coordinstion Coach  61


Name  Position Jersey No.
Franco Soldano Forward 27
Jan Hurtado Forward 17
Ramón Ábila Forward 9
Carlos Tévez Forward 10
M. Zárate Forward 19
E. Salvio Forward 11
S. Villa  Forward 22
E. Reynoso Midfielder 21
Alexis Mac Allister Midfielder 25
A. Almendra Midfielder 20
Daniele De Rossi Midfielder 18
I. Marcone


Midfielder 5
   Lisandro López Defender 20
J. Alonso Defender 6
Carlos Izquierdoz Defender 24
Paolo Goltz Defender 2
     F. Fabra Defender 18
E. Mas Defender 3
Julio Buffarini Defender 4
Kevin Mac Allister Defender 13
Marcelo Weigandt Defender 42
X. Etxeita Defender 16
E. Andrada GoalKeeper 1
M. Roffo GoalKeeper 28
M. Díaz GoalKeeper 12



The club holds

  • 33 Superliga Argentina titles
  • 1 Supercopa Argentina title
  • 3 Copa Argentina titles


The Club holds

  • 3 Intercontinental Cup titles
  • 6 Copa Libertadores titles
  • 2 Copa Sudamericana titles
  • 4 Recopa Sudamericana titles


Leave a Reply