Barcelona History, Ownership, Squad members, Support Staff and Honors


FC Barcelona, also known as Barca or Blaugrana, is a Spanish professional Football club. They participate in the La Liga, Copa del Rey and Supercopa de Espana.


Barcelona was formed 119 years ago by eleven enthusiasts when the Swiss Football Pioneer Joan Gamper put out an advertisement in the newspaper Los Deportes on 22nd October, 1899 about his wish to start a Football club.

In 1902, Barcelona faced Bizcaya in the finals of Copa del Rey and got beaten. Barcelona lifted the Copa Del Rey trophy for the first time in the 1909-10 season and defended it successfully for the next two seasons.

After the Spanish Civil war broke out and the Franco’s regime started, the club started competing in La Liga. The club won five La Liga titles from 1942 to 1957. During the 60s, Barcelona became the first team to defeat Real Madrid in the European Cup.

Club Ownership

FC Barcelona is not owned by any individual or a business group, but by 155,000 Socios or members of Barcelona. They govern the Club and elect the club’s president who heads the board of directors.

Currently, the club President is Josep Maria Bartomeu, a Spanish entrepreneur who took over after the resignation of Sandro Rosell. He is the 40th President of FC Barcelona.

The Club’s home ground has been Camp Nou since 1957. The stadium is considered the largest in Europe and the third-largest in the world.

The Club is the fourth most valuable sports team in the world with a total worth of 4.06 billion dollars.


Name Position Age
Ernesto Valverde Head Coach 55
Jon Aspiazu Assistant Coach 65
Eric Abidal First Team Coach 40
Ramon Planes First Team Coach
Xavi Garcia Pimienta B team Coach 45
Patrick Kluivert Head of Youth football 43



Name Position Jersey No.
L.Messi Forward 10
C. Perez Forward 27
Ansu Fati Forward 31
O. Dembele Forward 11
A. Griezmann Forward 17
L. Suarez Forward 9
S. Busquets Midfielder 5 Jong Midfielder 21
Arthur Midfielder 8
S. Roberto Midfielder 20
I. Rakitic Midfielder 4
C. Alena Midfielder 19
A. Vidal Midfielder 22
C. Lenglet Defender 15
S. Umtiti Defender 23
G. Pique Defender 3
J. Todibo Defender 6
J. Alba Defender 18
J. Firpo Defender 24
N. Semedo Defender 2
M. Wague Defender 16
M. ter Stegen GoalKeeper 1
Neto GoalKeeper 13
I. Pena GoalKeeper 26




The Club holds

  • 26 La Liga titles
  • 30 Copa del Rey titles
  • 13 Supercopa de Espana titles


The Club holds

  • 5 UEFA Champions League titles
  • 4 UEFA Super Cup titles


The Club holds

  • 3 FIFA Club World Cup titles





Leave a Reply