One Indian included in ICC’s Best XI of Women’s T20 WC 2020

Indian women-team

team of the tournament

Only one Indian has been included in the ICC Women’s Team of the T20 World Cup, while five Australians from the victorious team have been included. Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning, Jess Jonassen and Megan Schutt are the five Aussies in the side while Poonam Yadav is the lone Indian to feature in the eleven.

Ind vs Aus

Four England players make the cut as well, while one South African player makes the team. The 12th player is Shafali Verma, who impressed in her maiden outing in an ICC event, scoring 163 runs at a strike rate of 158.25. Meg Lanning, the Aussie skipper, will lead the team.

The team of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 (in batting order) is:

Alyssa Healy (wk) (Australia) – 236 runs at 39.33, seven dismissals

Beth Mooney (Australia) – 259 runs at 64.75

Nat Sciver (England) – 202 runs at 67.33

Heather Knight (England) – 193 runs at 64.33

Meg Lanning (c) (Australia) – 132 runs at 44

Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) – 94 runs at a strike rate of 149

Jess Jonassen (Australia) – 10 wickets at 14.00

Sophie Ecclestone (England) – eight wickets at 6.12

Anya Shrubsole (England) – eight wickets at 10.62

Megan Schutt (Australia) – 13 wickets at 10.30

Poonam Yadav (India) – 10 wickets at 11.90

12th: Shafali Verma (India) – 163 runs at a strike rate of 158.25

The recent Women’s T20 World Cup was defined by the quality of cricket on offer, and the competitive games that were churned out match after match. It ended with a record turnout in a women’s cricket game in the finals at the MCG, where India took on Australia.

The Indians, despite an unbeaten streak in the league games, we’re unable to dish out their best in the finals as the Australians went on a rampage, first scoring 184 runs, and then dismissing India for just 99.

It was Australia’s fifth T20 title, including the second in a row. The Indian Women’s team are still awaiting their maiden ICC event, after reaching the semis in the 2018 T20 World Cup.