India tour of Australia 2020-21: Australia will start as favourites, feels Rohan Gavaskar

The Indian Cricket Team are all set to play against Australia in three T20s, three ODIs and 4 Tests. The last time India visited Australia, they created history after winning the Border-Gavaskar Series 2-1. It was their first-ever series win against Australia in Australia in their Test Cricket history.

India will once again be squaring up against Australia in Australia in the four-match Test series, starting from 17th December 2020. Former Indian cricketer, Rohan Gavaskar believes that inclusion of Steve Smith and David Warner would make Australia a tough nut to crack for the upcoming series.

Both the cricketers were nursing the 12-month ban during the last series owing to their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal.

Also, Indian skipper, Virat Kohli won’t be part of India’s Test squad in the last three Tests and thus the Men in Blue shouldn’t be labelled as the favourites for the tour, said Rohan Gavaskar.

Absolutely it (the return of Steve Smith and David Warner) just adds so much more to the Australian side,” said Gavaskar. “Last time we went to Australia as favourites. I don’t think anybody was surprised by the result. This time around, Steve Smith and David Warner, two of the best batsmen of the world returning to their side will make it different. Australia will start as favourites,” Rohan Gavaskar told Hindustan Times.

Rohan Gavaskar, though, was quick to add that the current Indian side is well equipped in all the departments to give a tough fight to the Australian team.

Indian batsmen are very much capable of handling pace and bounce in Australia. The conditions might favour them a bit but this Indian side is top class. I’ve got absolutely no doubt in mind that they’ve got the skills, both mental and physical to handle to whatever is thrown at them in different conditions,” Rohan Gavaskar said.

India’s tour of Australia 2020-21 will begin from three ODIs, which will be followed by as many T20s. Following the completion of white-ball series, India will play 4 Tests against Australia, starting from 17th December 2020. The first Test will be held with the Pink ball at Adelaide.