David Warner shares an endearing message for Indian fans

David Warner photo

The Australian team is all geared up for a three-match One-Day International series against India later this month. One of the key players for the Aussies would be opening batter, David Warner. Since his return to the 50-over format, the left-hand batsman has scored more than 640 runs at an average of 71 in just 10 games. 

Prior to the series, the 33-year-old cricketer has uploaded a picture on Instagram and shared a lovely message for the fans who are waiting to see the highly-anticipated series between the two teams. Taking it to the photo-sharing platform, the player, who can be boarding the flight for India, was smiling for the camera before landing here.

Alongside the photo, he wrote, “India here we come!! It’s going to be a great 3 game series. Looking forward to seeing all our Indian fans.” 


India has always been a happy hunting ground for Warner. He has played a total of 5 ODIs against the Men In Blue in their own backyard. In those 5 matches, the left-handed batsman has scored 245 runs at an average of 49. 

The last three editions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) have been game-changer for the Aussie batsman. Warner scored 848 runs in 2016, 641 runs in 2017, and 692 runs in 2019. Last year, he scored 8 half-centuries and 1 century during the 12th season. The Aussie was also the second-highest run-getter in the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019 with 647 runs and was just one run behind tournament’s highest-scorer Rohit Sharma.

David Warner

His time at the IPL will help him perform really good in the upcoming series. He was not a part of the team which traveled India last year and beat them in their home conditions. Warner is coming into this series after an amazing summer down under

The series will also see Steven Smith playing for the first time in India since 2017.

The first ODI between India and Australia will take place on January 14 in Mumbai while the second game will be played on January 17 in Rajkot. Meanwhile, the third and final match will be played in Bengaluru on January 19.

India Squad:

Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Lokesh Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, Navdeep Saini, Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube.


Australia Squad:

Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steven Smith, Josh Hazlewood, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa, Alex Carey (wk), Marnus Labuschagne, D Arcy Short.