How will fans remember Virat Kohli as leader in T20 format?

MS Dhoni was not DRS fan while Kohli quite the opposite one

Batting legend Virat Kohli is leading India for one last time in the ongoing edition of the T20 World Cup which means he will be no longer be T20 Captain but will continue to contribute as a player. He was leading Men in Blue in the T20 format from 2016 onwards and India went on to win many bilateral series in that tenure but the only thing which Kohli couldn’t win is the ICC trophy under his leadership. Let us analyze how fans will be remembering him as an India T20 skipper in detail.

  1. Kohli has led India in 50 T20 International matches where he has won 30 matches which is the second-best number behind MS Dhoni who has led India to 42 wins in the shortest format. Kohli is the only captain to win bilateral series in SENA countries which include teams like South Africa, England, New Zealand, and Australia.
  2. During his tenure as skipper, he has scored the fastest 1000 runs in 30 innings and he is also the highest run-scorer of T20 International where he has amassed 3227 runs at an average of 52.05 with the highest score of 94.
  3. Kohli’s captaincy in ICC tournament knockout matches has been questionable oftentimes as he failed to make smart bowling changes in the crunch moments of the game.
  4. He has also failed to field right X1 in major tournaments and the latest example is the noninclusion of Ashwin and Chahar in big games against Men in Green and Black Caps has raised eyebrows on selection.
  5. Virat Kohli has been leading in white-ball format from 2016 onwards and it was his first and last time he was leading the side in T20 International for Men in Blue and he was unable to win the ICC trophy on this occasion too.