CWI confirms the availability of all their players in upcoming IPL 2022

West Indies is currently on the tour of India and they will be next clashing against each other in a three match T20 International series followed by 0-3 defeat against Men in Blue in recently concluded ODI series.

However, T20 format is the only format where Caribbean side can challenge any other side of the world and this is the biggest reason why most Caribbean players are picked by different IPL franchise and there were lot of reports circulating on social media platforms that they might miss some part of upcoming IPL due to their International commitment and reacting to these rumours , Cricket West Indies have responded that their players will be available for entire IPL 2022.

Kieron Pollard

The CWI has allocated a window for the tournament each year in their ICC FTP and also guaranteed this to the players in their retainer contracts, therefore West Indies players are fully available to participate in the IPL each year. The IPL 2022 is slated to be played in April and May,” the board said in a statement on Monday (February 14).

 “I want to congratulate all of the West Indies players who have secured contracts to the various franchises in the IPL, which is the biggest and most lucrative global T20 franchise tournament. But I especially want to applaud those younger players who received their first full IPL contracts,” said the CWI boss Ricky Skeritt.

“This shows great faith in emerging West Indies talent. I continue to believe that our players can seek quality employment abroad, and still be positioned to operate constructively and successfully within the West Indies cricket system,” he added.

Players like Nicholas Pooran, Jason Holder, Sherfane Rutherford, Rovman Powell and Dwayne Bravo are the ones who got picked by different franchise ahead of marquee event.

IPL 2022 is all set to start from the end of March 2022 it will be operating till May with 74 matches to be played in next edition instead of 60 matches as two more teams have been added in IPL in form of Lucknow and Gujarat.