Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 : Fans flood social media with memes after Smith inspects Nagpur pitch

Steve Smith

Prior to the first Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against India, which will begin on February 9, Australian star batters Steve Smith and David Warner inspected the Nagpur surface. At Nagpur’s Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium, India and Australia will play their first Test match. However, the image became the subject of a number of social media memes.

In India, David and Smith both have opposing track records. Smith has a stellar track record in India. He has 660 runs at an average of 60.00 in six games and 12 innings. His bat has produced three centuries and a fifty, with the highest total being 178.

David Warner, on the other hand, will be eager to improve his record against India in subcontinental circumstances. He has scored only 388 runs at an average of 24.25 in eight Tests and 16 innings. With the best score of 71, he has only produced three fifties.

Just two days before the match, according to, the surface is dry and has loose cracks, which will undoubtedly prompt both teams to think about including a variety of spin bowling options in their playing eleven.

Smith reportedly told reporters about the pitch: “Pretty dry, particularly one end.” “I believe it will require some spin, especially from the left-arm spinner going for our left-handers. There is a particularly arid area there.” “Other than that, it is difficult for me to evaluate it accurately. The wicket won’t have much bounce, it’ll be very skiddy for the seamers, and as the game progresses, there might be some up-and-down movement.”

The cracks seemed very flimsy. I’m not exactly sure, but we’ll wait and see,” Smith said in conclusion. In order to control these two beasts throughout the series, India can benefit from the typical spin-friendly subcontinental weather and their arsenal of elite spinners, including Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Axar Patel.

The last time Australia visited India was in 2017. That series was won 2-1 by India.