Barcelona History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors.

fc barcelona


Barcelona is a football club situated in Spain. It is commonly known as “Barcelona” or “Barca” based out in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. The club was founded  in 1899 by a small crew including Swiss, Spanish, English, and Catalan footballers which were led by Joan Gamper,

Barcelona has now become a symbol of Catalan culture and Catalanism, hence the motto “Més que un club” (“More than a club”) is followed by the localities.  The club is supported and operated by the fans, spectators, and followers of Barcelona. The club is currently the fourth most valuable sports team in the world, worth $4.06 billion, and the world’s richest football club in terms of revenue, with an annual turnover of €840,8 million.


On 22 October 1899, Hans Gamper set a promotion in Los Deportes pronouncing his wish to make a football club; a positive reaction comes about in an assembly at the Gimnasio Solé on 29 November. Eleven players attended – Walter Wild (the primary chief of the club), Lluís d’Ossó, Bartomeu Terradas, Otto Kunzle, Otto Maier, Enric Ducal, Pere Cabot, Carles Pujol, Josep Llobet, John Parsons, and William Parsons – and Foot-Ball Club Barcelona was born.[18]

FC Barcelona had an effective beginning in territorial and national cups, competing within the Campionat de Catalunya and the Copa del Rey. In 1902, the club won it, to begin with, trophy, the Copa Macaya, and taken an interest within the first Copa del Rey, losing 1–2 to Bizcaya within the final. In 1908, Hans Gamper – presently known as Joan Gamper – got to be club president in a frantic endeavor to spare Barcelona from termination, finding the club battling not fair on the pitch, but moreover fiscally and socially, after not winning a competition since the Campionat de Catalunya in 1905. He said in an assembly, “Barcelona cannot die and must not pass on. In the event that there’s no one who is aiming to attempt, at that point, I will expect the obligation of running the club from presently on.”Club president on five isolated events between 1908 and 1925, he went through a long time to add up to at the steerage. One of his primary accomplishments was guaranteeing Barça obtain its claim stadium and hence create a steady income. The official Barcelona song of devotion is the “Cant del Bar


Together with Real Madrid, Athletic Bilbao, and Osasuna, Barcelona is organized as an enlisted affiliation. Unlike a limited company, it isn’t conceivable to buy offers within the club, but as it were participation. The individuals of Barcelona, called socis, form an get together of delegates which is the most noteworthy overseeing body of the club. As of 2016, the club has 140,000 socis In 2010, Forbes assessed Barcelona’s worth to be around €752 million (US$1 billion), positioning them fourth after Manchester Joined together, Genuine Madrid and Arms stockpile, based on figures from the 2008–09 season.

According to Deloitte, Barcelona had a recorded income of €366 million within the same period, positioning second to Genuine Madrid, who produced €401 million in revenue. In 2013, Forbes magazine positioned Barcelona the third most profitable sports group within the world, behind Genuine Madrid and Manchester Joined together, with the esteem of $2.6 billion. In 2014, Forbes positioned them the moment the most important sports group within the world, worth $3.2 billion, and Deloitte positioned them the world’s fourth wealthiest football club in terms of income, with a yearly turnover of €484.6 million. In 2017, Forbes positioned them the fourth most profitable sports group within the world with a group esteem of $3.64 billion the world’s most noteworthy paid sports group, in November 2018 Barcelona got to be the primary sports group with normal first-team pay in abundance of £10m ($13.8m) per year.

Coaching Staff

Position Staff Age
Head coach  Quique Setién 61
Assistant coach Eder Sarabia 39
Technical secretary  Eric Abidal 40
Adjunct technical secretary  Ramon Planes 52
“B” team technical secretary  José Mari Bakero 57
“B” team coach  Xavi García Pimienta 45
Head of youth football  Patrick Kluivert 43
Technical secretary of youth football  Jordi Roura 52
Juvenil A coach  Franc Artiga 43
Juvenil B coach  Òscar López 39
Institutional and sporting relations  Guillermo Amor 52
Goalkeeping coordinator  Ricard Segarra 48
Head of scouting  Josep Boada 58



Office Name
President Josep Maria Bartomeu
First vice president and director of the Barça Foundation Jordi Cardoner
Second vice president Vacant
Third vice president and responsible for ‘Espai Barça’ Jordi Moix
Fourth vice president and treasurer Enrique Tombas
Secretary Maria Teixidor
Board members Jordi Argemí
Joan Bladé
Javier Bordas
Jordi Calsamiglia
Silvio Elías
Dídac Lee
Marta Plana
Josep Pont
Emili Rousaud
Oriol Tomàs
Josep Ramon Vidal-Abarca
Xavier Vilajoana
Pau Vilanova



No Position Name
1 GK Marc-André ter Stegen
2 DF Nélson Semedo
3 DF Gerard Piqué (3rd captain)
4 MF Ivan Rakitić
5 MF Sergio Busquets (vice-captain)
8 MF Arthur
9 FW Luis Suárez
10 FW Lionel Messi (captain)
11 FW Ousmane Dembélé
13 GK Neto
15 DF Clément Lenglet
17 FW Antoine Griezmann
18 DF Jordi Alba
19 FW Martin Braithwaite
20 DF Sergi Roberto (4th captain)
21 MF Frenkie de Jong
22 MF Arturo Vidal
23 DF Samuel Umtiti
24 DF Junior Firpo


Type Competition Titles Seasons
Domestic La Liga 26 1929, 1944–45, 1947–48, 1948–49, 1951–52, 1952–53, 1958–59, 1959–60, 1973–74, 1984–85, 1990–91, 1991–92, 1992–93, 1993–94, 1997–98, 1998–99, 2004–05, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2010–11, 2012–13, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2018–19
Copa del Rey 30 1909–10, 1911–12, 1912–13, 1919–20, 1921–22, 1924–25, 1925–26, 1927–28, 1941–42, 1950–51, 1951–52, 1952–53, 1956–57, 1958–59, 1962–63, 1967–68, 1970–71, 1977–78, 1980–81, 1982–83, 1987–88, 1989–90, 1996–97, 1997–98, 2008–09, 2011–12, 2014–15, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2017–18
Supercopa de España 13 1983, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2016, 2018
Copa Eva Duarte 3 1948, 1952, 1953
Copa de la Liga 2 1983, 1986
European UEFA Champions League 5 1991–92, 2005–06, 2008–09, 2010–11, 2014–15
UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup 4 1978–79, 1981–82, 1988–89, 1996–97
UEFA Super Cup 5S 1992, 1997, 2009, 2011, 2015
Inter-Cities Fairs Cup 3 1955–58, 1958–60, 1965–66
Worldwide FIFA Club World Cup 3 2009, 2011, 2015