RB Leipzig History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors



RB Leipzig

RasenBallsport Leipzig also called RB Leipzig, is a German professional football club based in Leipzig, Saxony. The club was established in 2009 by Red Bull. The company purchased the playing rights of fifth-tier side SSV Markranstädt with the intent of advancing the new club to the top-flight Bundesliga within eight years. Men’s professional football is run by the spin-off organization RasenBallsport Leipzig GmbH. RB Leipzig plays its home matches at the Red Bull Arena.

In its maiden season in 2009–10, RB Leipzig was the prime club in the NOFV-Oberliga Süd (V) and was held one step ahead as champions to the Regionalliga Nord (IV). RB Leipzig won the 2012–13 Regionalliga Nordost season with zero defeat and was again promoted to the 3. Liga (III), then finished the 2013–14 3. Liga season as runners-up and was promoted to the 2. Bundesliga (II) as the first team since the introduction of the 3. Liga to win promotion after only one season.

On 8 May 2016, RB Leipzig made sure of a promotion to the Bundesliga for the 2016–17 season with a 2–0 win over Karlsruher SC. Followed by, RB Leipzig holding a place in the 2017–18 UEFA Champions League by finishing as runners-up in the Bundesliga.


RasenBallsport Leipzig was incepted on 19 May 2009. The formation included all seven founding members including employees or agents of Red Bull GmbH. Andreas Sadlo was elected chairman, and Joachim Krug was hired as a sporting director. Andreas Sadlo was a very famous football player agent, working for the agency “Stars & Friends”. In order to avoid future objections from the German Football Association (DFB), he resigned as a player agent, before taking the position as chairman. The statutes of the DFB would not allow a player agent to be involved in the operating affairs of a club. Joachim Krug had earlier been employed as coach and manager by Rot Weiss Ahlen, which by that time was known as LR Ahlen and sponsored by cosmetics manufacturer LR International.

RB Leipzig was the fifth football club in the Red Bull portfolio others including FC Red Bull Salzburg in Austria, the New York Red Bulls in the United States, Red Bull Brasil in Brazil and Red Bull Ghana in Ghana. Contrary to previous clubs, RB Leipzig did not have the company’s name. The official documents of the DFB didn’t permit the company name to be included in the club name. hence, the club adopted the unusual name “RasenBallsport”, which means “Lawn Ball Sports”.


On 2nd December 2014, the general meeting of the football club voted unanimously for a strong base for the club. There were 14 voting members and 40 supporting members. while Chairman Oliver Mintzlaff stated that the meeting and votings were made for the club to be able to emerge as a professional team and stay competitive. The RasenballSport Leipzig GmbH is the head for the professional team, the reserve team and men’s junior teams from U15 and above.

As of 2015, Red Bull GmbH is the main stakeholder of RasenballSport Leipzig GmbH, holding 99 per cent of the shares. The remaining one per cent is held by the association. However, as per the rules of 50 + 1 rule, formal power lies with the association, holding the majority of votes.

As of April 2016, the general manager of RasenballSport Leipzig GmbH is Oliver Mintzlaff.

Coaching Staff

Position Name
Head coach  Julian Nagelsmann
Assistant Coach  Moritz Volz
Assistant coach  Robert Klauss
Assistant coach video analysis  Lars Kornetka
Goalkeeping coach  Frederik Gößling
Athletic coach  Daniel Behlau
Athletic coach  Kai Kraft



Sporting director Markus Krösche
Sports coordinator  René Grotus
Team manager  Tim Sebastian
Team supervisor  Babacar N’Diaye
Club doctor  Dr Robert P. Marshall
Club doctor  Dr. Frank Striegler
Club doctor  Dr. Ralf Zimmermann
Sports psychologist  Maximilian Pelka



No Position Player
1 GK Péter Gulácsi
3 DF Angeliño (on loan from Manchester City)
4 DF Willi Orban (Captain)
5 DF Dayot Upamecano
6 DF Ibrahima Konaté
7 FW Marcel Sabitzer
8 MF Amadou Haidara
9 FW Yussuf Poulsen
10 MF Emil Forsberg
11 FW Timo Werner
14 MF Tyler Adams
16 DF Lukas Klostermann
17 FW Ademola Lookman
18 MF Christopher Nkunku
19 MF Hannes Wolf
21 FW Patrik Schick (on loan from Roma)
22 DF Nordi Mukiele
23 DF Marcel Halstenberg
25 MF Dani Olmo
26 DF Ethan Ampadu (on loan from Chelsea)
27 DF Konrad Laimer
28 GK Yvon Mvogo
32 GK Tim Schreiber
33 GK Philipp Tschauner
44 MF Kevin Kampl
53 MF Tom Krauß




  • Bundesliga
    • Runners-up:2016–17
  • Bundesliga(II)
    • Runners-up:2015–16
  • Liga(III)
    • Runners-up:2013–14
  • Regionalliga Nordost(IV)
    • Champions:2012–13
  • NOFV-Oberliga Süd(V)
    • Champions:2009–10, 2014–15
  • Sachsenliga(VI)
    • Champions:2013–14
  • Bezirksliga Leipzig(VII)
    • Champions:2009–10, 2010–11

 Reserve team


  • DFB-Pokal
    • Runners-up:2018–19
  • Saxony Cup
    • Winners:2010–11, 2012–13

Youth league

  • Under 19 Bundesliga North/Northeast
    • Champions:2014–15
  • Under 17 Bundesliga
    • Runners-up:2014
  • Under 17 Bundesliga North/Northeast
    • Champions:2013–14, 2014–15, 2017–18
    • Runners-up:2015–16, 2016–17
  • Under 19 Regionalliga Nordost(II)
    • Champions:2013–14
  • Under 17 Regionalliga Nordost(II)
    • Champions:2010–11

Youth cup

  • Under 19 Landespokal Sachsen
    • Winners:2011–12, 2012–13, 2015–16
  • Under 17 Landespokal Sachsen
    • Winners:2011–12, 2012–13, 2013–14, 2014–15, 2016–17
  • Under 17 NOFV-Pokal
    • Winners:2012–13, 2015–16