Borussia Mönchengladbach History, Ownership, Squad Members, Support Staff, and Honors


Borussia Verein für Leibesübungen 1900 e.V. Mönchengladbach, commonly known as Borussia Mönchengladbach Mönchengladbach or Gladbach (truncated as Borussia MG), is a proficient football club based in Mönchengladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, that plays in the Bundesliga, the best flight of German football. The club has won five League titles, three DFB-Pokals, and two UEFA Europa League titles


Borussia Mönchengladbach were founded in 1900, with its name derived from a Latinized form of Prussia, which was a popular name for German clubs in the former Kingdom of Prussia. The team joined the Bundesliga in 1965 and saw the majority of its success in the 1970s, where, under the guidance of Hennes Weisweiler, they captured five league championships with Die Fohlen team; a term coined as the squad was young with a fast, aggressive playing style. Mönchengladbach also won two UEFA Cup titles during this period.

Since 2004, Borussia Mönchengladbach has played at Borussia-Park, having previously played at the Bökelbergstadion since 1919. Based on membership, Borussia Mönchengladbach is the fifth largest club in Germany, with over 75,000 members. The club’s main rivals are FC Köln and Bayer Leverkusen.

The herald of the club Borussia Mönchengladbach was a bunch of players who, after clearing out the sports club Germania, established the unused club on 17 November 1899 within the eatery “Anton Schmitz” on the Alsstraße in Eicken area of Mönchengladbach, which got to be a sports club with the name FC Borussia in 1900. The title “Borussia” infers from the Latinized frame of Prussia, the kingdom in which the city of Mönchengladbach was arranged from 1815. By 1912, Die Borussen found itself within the Verbandsliga, at the time the most noteworthy division the club seem to play in.

In Walk 1914, the club obtained De Kull, the ground on which the Bökelbergstadion would be built. The Primary World War ended the advance of both the stadium and FC Borussia, but by late 1917 the group had started to play recreations once more. In 1919, FC Borussia consolidated with another nearby club, Turnverein Germania 1889, getting to be 1899 VfTuR M.Gladbach. The club accomplished it, to begin with, a major victory in 1920, vanquishing Kölner BC 3–1 to win the Westdeutsche Meisterschaft final.

The union between Germania and Borussia lasted only for two years and the club was later known as Borussia VfL 1900 e.V. M.Gladbach.


Coaching Staff

Role Name
Head coach Marco Rose
Assistant coach Dirk Bremser
Assistant coach Frank Geideck
Goalkeeping coach Uwe Kamps


Role Name
Team doctor Dr. Heribert Ditzel
Team doctor and orthopedic surgeon Dr. Stefan Hertl
Team doctor and orthopedic surgeon Dr. Stefan Porten
Athletic trainer Alexander Mouhcine
Physiotherapist Andreas Bluhm
Physiotherapist Dirk Müller
Physiotherapist Adam Szordykowski



Number Position Name
1 GK Yann Sommer (vice-captain)
4 DF Mamadou Doucouré
5 MF Tobias Strobl
6 MF Christoph Kramer
7 MF Patrick Herrmann
8 MF Denis Zakaria
10 FW Marcus Thuram
11 FW Raffael
13 FW Lars Stindl (captain)
14 FW Alassane Pléa
16 MF Ibrahima Traoré
17 DF Oscar Wendt
18 DF Stefan Lainer
19 MF Fabian Johnson
21 GK Tobias Sippel
22 MF László Bénes
23 MF Jonas Hofmann
24 DF Tony Jantschke
25 DF Ramy Bensebaini
26 FW Torben Müsel
28 DF Matthias Ginter
30 DF Nico Elvedi
31 GK Max Grün
32 MF Florian Neuhaus
36 FW Breel Embolo
37 MF Keanan Bennetts




  • Winners: 1969–70, 1970–71, 1974–75, 1975–76, 1976–77
  • Runners-up: 1973–74, 1977–78
  1. Bundesliga:
  • Winners: 2007–08


  • Winners: 1959–60, 1972–73, 1994–95
  • Runners-up: 1983–84, 1991–92

German Supercup:

  • (Unofficial winners):1977


European Cup:

  • Runners-up: 1976–77


  • Winners: 1974–75, 1978–79
  • Runners-up: 1972–73, 1979–80


Intercontinental Cup:

  • Runners-up: 1977


German Under 17 Champions:

  • Winners: 1981

Under 17 Bundesliga West

  • Winners: 2009


  • 1974–75: League and UEFA Cup