Women’s singles winners in Wimbledon in the Last Decade


Winning Wimbledon is a dream for most players because it requires a lot of strength, hard work, talent, good fortune, perseverance, mental ability, and other qualities. In the history of tennis, certain players have been fortunate enough to live this dream. The winners of the women’s singles category of the Grass Court Grand Slam (Wimbledon) over the preceding ten years (2013–2022) will be looked into in this article.

Also Read: Top 5 Players with Most Number of Grand Slams in Tennis History

2013: Marion Bartoli

The French superwoman Marion Bartoli won the Wimbledon tournament for the first time ever in 2013. She won the final one-sidedly against her opponent from Germany, Sabine Lisicki, in straight sets, 6-1, 6-4. It was the second Wimbledon final for Bartoli after losing to Venus Williams in her first.

2014: Petra Kvitova

Petra Kvitova realised her dream of winning Wimbledon for the second time in 2014. She defeated Eugenie Bouchard of Canada in the finals with a score of 6-3, 6-0. Kvitova’s first title came in 2011, when she defeated the legendary Maria Sharapova.

2015: Serena Williams

Wimbledon 2015 was the year of the “Queen of Tennis,”, Serena Williams. She won her record sixth Wimbledon title in 2015. She defeated the Spaniard Garbine Muguruza in the final 6-4, 6-4. In an era where players found It difficult to win even one Grand Slam, especially Wimbledon, Serena won it a staggering six times.

2016: Serena Williams

This was the third time in her career that Serena has won Wimbledon two consecutive times. This was Serena’s seventh gold medal in London, which she won by defeating Germany’s Angelique Kerber 7-5, 6-3.

2017: Garbine Muguruza

After losing her first Wimbledon final ever to Serena Williams in 2015, where Muguruza could not do much, she roared back in 2017 and this time went all the way, clinching the title in London, beating Serena’s sister, Venus Williams, in the final.

2018: Angelique Kerber

The 2018 Wimbledon final had the same players participating in it as the 2016 final, but the result changed. German player Angelique Kerber had her revenge on Serena Williams and finally managed to win Wimbledon for the first time in her career.

2019: Simona Halep

Serena Williams once again lost the Wimbledon final in 2019 against Romania’s Simona Halep. Halep was phenomenal in that whole tournament and looked like the one to win it from the very beginning. The Romanian beat the legendary Serena in straight sets, 6-2, 6-2, to clinch the Wimbledon trophy.

2020: Cancelled

Wimbledon 2020 was suspended due to the worldwide outbreak of the COVID-19 virus.

2021: Ashleigh Barty

Australian Ash Barty won her first Wimbledon ever in 2021, and that too in her first final appearance. She won the nerve-wracking final against Karolina Pliskova with a score of 6-3, 6-7 (4-7), 6-3.

2022: Elena Rybakina

The unseeded Elena Rybakina was up against the favourite and the second-seeded Ons Jabeur in the 2022 Wimbledon final. Rybakina surprised everyone and made a performance for the history books, beating Jabeur after losing the first set. Rybakina has risen a lot since then and will be one of the top seeds at Wimbledon in 2023.