Men’s singles winners in Wimbledon in the Last Decade


It is often said that if a tennis player wins Wimbledon, his name is forever etched into the history books. It is an absolute dream that requires a lot of strength, hard work, talent, luck, determination, mental ability, and whatnot to get fulfilled. Some players have been lucky enough to achieve this dream in the history of tennis. In this piece, we will have a look at the winners of the men’s singles category of the Grass Court Grand Slam (Wimbledon) over the last decade (2013–2022).

Also Read: Top 5 Players with Most Number of Grand Slams in Tennis History

2013: Andy Murray

Before losing in the 2012 Wimbledon final to the great Roger Federer, Andy Murray finally managed to achieve the dream and win his home Grand Slam for the first time ever in 2013. He beat the Serbian Novak Djokovic in straight sets to clinch that Golden plate.

2014: Novak Djokovic

The 23-time Grand Slam winner Novak Djokovic tasted victory on the Grass court in 2014, beating the champion of grass, Roger Federer, in the final. Djokovic lost the final in 2013 but managed to go one step higher the very next season.

2015: Novak Djokovic

The victory in 2014 tasted so sweet to Novak Djokovic that he tasted it once again in 2015, beating the legendary Roger Federer. It seemed like the 2015 season was a repeat of the 2014 one as far as the men’s singles category is concerned.

2016: Andy Murray

Murray once again won his home Grand Slam, Wimbledon, in 2016. He again won in straight sets, displaying dominance, but this time against the Canadian Milos Raonic. This was Murray’s second Wimbledon trophy.

2017: Roger Federer

The 2017 Wimbledon final was a one-man show, and it seemed that Croatia’s Marin Cilic didn’t even show up. He got over the nerves of playing against Federer in a Wimbledon final and made the job half easy for the Swiss legend. Federer won his eighth Wimbledon title this year.

2018: Novak Djokovic

Facing South Africa’s Kevin Anderson in the final, Djokovic played like he always does and beat his opponent in consecutive sets to win his fourth Wimbledon title. It was a victory to remember for the Serbians.

2019: Novak Djokovic

Once again in 2019, Djokovic was up against Roger Federer in the Wimbledon final. Djokovic prevailed in a hard-fought match and won his fifth grass-court major. It was the second time that Novak Djokovic won Wimbledon two consecutive times.

2020: Cancelled

The 2020 edition of Wimbledon was unfortunately canceled due to the outbreak of the COVID-19 virus all over the world.

2021: Novak Djokovic

After the break from the pandemic, Wimbledon came back, but the men’s singles winner remained the same, as Djokovic won his sixth Wimbledon title in 2021. He beat a spirited Matteo Berrettini in the final after losing the first set.

2022: Novak Djokovic

The seventh Wimbledon title for the tennis Goat came in 2022. He beat the underdog Nick Kyrgios in the 2022 final. The Serbian legend will go into the 2023 season as the defending champion.