Tokyo 2020: 20 athletes, six officials from Indian contingents to take part in the opening ceremony

Mary Kom

India will send their 20 athletes, six officials to attend the opening ceremony of one of the biggest sporting event in the world which is all set to start on July 23rd, 2021.

Summer Olympics 2020

11,000 athletes approx will be competing under one roof to bring laurels for their nation. Taking about India they have field 119 athletes for Tokyo 2020 who will be competing in 18 different categories.

London Olympics bronze medalist and current Hockey men’s team skipper will be the official flag bearer from India.

The likes of 2016 Olympics silver medallist P. V. Sindhu, the world number one archer Deepika Kumari and tennis star Sania Mirza, the first Indian woman to play in four editions of the Olympics, will miss the opening ceremony.

None of the shuttlers, shooters, archers, and table tennis players will be in attendance in the Opening ceremony for Tokyo 2020.

Weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, one of India’s brightest medal prospects, and judoka Shushila Devi will also be among the absentees since they are both are in action the following day.

With local fans have been banned to witness the opening ceremony, the organizers have reduced the number of officials from each nation to six.  The opening ceremony will start at 4.30 pm IST on 23rd July 2021.