Sourav Ganguly set to become second Indian captain to be appointed as BCCI president

Sourav Ganguly BCCI President

It is now evident that Sourav Ganguly is set to become the next BCCI president given the fact there is no candidate against him. Sourav Ganguly is currently serving his second term as CAB (Cricket Association of Bengal) president.

But during the process, Sourav Ganguly set a unique record as BCCI president. Sourav Ganguly became the second Indian test captain to become BCCI president in the history of Indian cricket after Maharajkumar of Vizianagram or Vizzy.

The full name of Maharajkumar of Vizianagram was Lt. Col. Sir Pusapati Vijay Ananda Gajapathi Raju. He ruled the Vizianagram kingdom during the British rule. His enormous wealth helped Indian cricket during the early days. He was named the captain of the Indian men cricket team that toured in 1936.

He played only 3 test matches in his entire career and scored 33 runs at an average of 8.25. During the tour, he became the only Indian test cricketer to be bestowed with Knighthood by King Edward VIII.

During the period from 1954-1957, he served as BCCI President and for his outstanding achievements was awarded Padma Vibhushan in 1958.

Looking at Sourav Ganguly’s career graph, Sourav Ganguly has played 113 tests and 7212 runs, he has played 311 ODI’s and scored 11,363 runs in international cricket. The charismatic player also acted as an Indian captain from 2000-2005.


Leave a Reply