Mind Blowing Facts And Statistics About Border Gavaskar Trophy

border gavashkar trophy

Border Gavaskar trophy is a test trophy played between India and Australia since 1996.  The series is named after Australian legend Allan Border and Indian batting maestro Sunil Gavaskar, the two finest cricketers both the countries have ever produced. The series is played in both the nations turn wise, who so ever team wins the series claims the trophy, if the team wins back to back series, the trophy is retained by the team.

India has just retained the Border Gavaskar series a few days back in Australia, winning the historic test series. But you know who the leading run scorer in Border Gavaskar trophy is or who took most wickets, let’s have a look at the mind blowing facts and statistics about the Border Gavaskar trophy:-

Most Wins By A team

image source

Both the nations have played a total of 48 test matches till date, India has won 20 matches, whereas Australia won only 18. India has won 8 series, while Australia won 5  ,1 resulted in a draw in 2003-04.

Most Number Of Man Of The Seriesimage source

Sachin Tendulkar has won most number of Man of the series award ( 3 times ) in the Border Gavaskar trophy.

Most Number Of Runssachin tendulkarimage source

Like any other batting statistics, Sachin Tendulkar leads the list. The batting maestro has scored 3262 runs in 34 test matches at an average of 56.24. his best score was 241* in Sydney.

The second in the list is Ricky Ponting with 2555 runs in 29 test matches. VVS Laxman holds the third position with 2434 runs in 26 test matches.

Most Centuriesimage source

Sachin Tendulkar also holds the record for most number of centuries in the Border Gavaskar trophy. He has hit 9 test centuries against the Kangaroos followed by Ricky Ponting (8), Michael Clarke and Steve Smith (8).

Highest Individual Scoreimage source

Michael Clarke holds the record for the highest individual score in the border Gavaskar trophy. His 329* is the only triple ton scored in the Border Gavaskar history.

Highest Averageimage source

Steve Smith tops the list with an unbelievable average of 84. 05 trailed by Mohammad Azharuddin (69.8), Andrew Symonds (68.33) and Navjot Singh Siddhu (68.2).

Highest Team Totalimage source

India holds the record for the highest team total, India posted 705/7 against Australia in 2004 at Sydney cricket ground. The second highest score of 659/4 was also posted at Sydney cricket ground by Australia, it was the same match where Michael Clarke got his first triple hundred against India.

The 3rd, 4th and 5th position is acquired by India (657/7 at Eden Gardens Test in 2001, 633/5 in 1998 and 613/7 at Delhi in 2008).

Most Number Of Wicketsimage source

Anil Kumble is the leading wicket taker in the Border Gavaskar trophy with 111 wickets from 20 test matches followed by Harbhajan Singh with 95 wickets.

Most Five Wicket Haulsimage source

Anil Kumble again tops the charts with 10 five wicket hauls in 20 test matches followed by Harbhajan Singh with 7 five wicket hauls.

Most Dismissals As A Wicketkeeperimage source

Adam Gilchrist holds the record for most dismissals as a wicketkeeper (75 dismissals) followed by MS Dhoni with 71 dismissals.

Most Successful Captainimage source

Michael Clarke is the most successful captain in terms of winning ratio (62.5) closely followed by MS Dhoni with 61.53.

In terms of most number of wins, MS Dhoni has an upper hand over others, he has won most number of matches as an captain (8) followed by Steve Waugh and Michael Clarke with 5 victories respectively.

Also Check :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *