Major League Cricket Unveils Star-Studded Lineup for Inaugural Season

Major League Cricket

Major League Cricket (MLC) will kick off its cricketing action on July 13, featuring renowned players like former Australian captain Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, and Wanindu Hasaranga. An official statement from MLC confirms that the inaugural season will showcase a talented lineup of T20 players from around the world, joining forces with domestic talents in the United States.

Also Read: What will happen if WTC Final Ended Draw

Among the overseas stars already announced are Australia’s Aaron Finch and Marcus Stoinis, South Africa’s Quinton de Kock, Wayne Parnell, Anrich Nortje, and Marco Jansen, alongside Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga. Harmeet Singh, a member of the victorious Indian U-19 squad at the 2012 World Cup, has also secured a place in MLC.

Justin Geale, the MLC Tournament Director, shares his enthusiasm for the showpiece event, particularly looking forward to identifying the leading run-scorer of the summer. “We can’t wait to see which superstar player captures the Royal(R) Leading Run Scorer award this summer,” stated Geale. MLC recently partnered with the Royal(R) brand as an official sponsor for its inaugural season, aligning their shared vision to develop cricket in the United States.

The award for the “Royal Leading Run Scorer” will be presented on July 30 at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Grand Prairie, Texas. “We’re excited to partner with Major League Cricket to bring the culture, cuisine, and vibrant flavors of South Asia to cricket fans in the United States,” said Abhinav Arora, president of LT Foods Americas, the global culinary enterprise behind the Royal(R) brand.

The first-ever MLC match will be held on Thursday, July 13, at the state-of-the-art Grand Prairie Stadium near Dallas, Texas. Following the opening game, eighteen more matches will be played, culminating in the inaugural MLC championship final on Sunday, July 30. The six teams competing in the tournament are the Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings, and Washington Freedom.