Borussia Dortmund History, Ownership, Squad members, Support Staff and Honors

Borussia Dortmund, also known as The BVB, is a German professional Football club. They participate in the German Championships, DFB-Pokals, and DFL-Supercups.


Borussia Dortmund was formed 109 years ago on 19 December 1909 by a group of eighteen youths who were unhappy with the local chaplain’s treatment of their church-sponsored Football team.

The club, at its initial stage, was very small. They barely avoided bankruptcy in 1929 majorly due to being an anti-Nazi oriented club. In the mid-50s, the club won their first two consecutive national titles.

The club, after clinching a few titles, was struggling again and the future wasn’t looking great. Under such conditions, Ottmar Hitzfeld took charge of the club in 1992 and Dortmund soared to the top of German Football.

The Club won two Bundesliga titles and a Champions League final as well by defeating Juventus by 3-1. The good times for the club didn’t survive long enough. After Hitzleld went, the club suffered major financial crisis.

In 2002, in order to survive, the club had to sell its precious players. The miserable situation continued till the arrival of Jurgen Kloop in 2008. Under his leadership, the club won two Bundesliga and one DFB-Pokal.

Club Ownership

The Club, which is worth 896 Million Euros, is owned by Borussia Dortmund Gmbh & Co.kgaa. The Chairman of the club is the German Politician Reinhard Rauball

Since the origin of the club, it has changed its home ground three times. Currently, the Signal Iduna Park is serving as the home ground of the club.

The stadium can hold 81,365 spectators. The Stadium is also famous for its Yellow stand. It is Germany’s largest Stadium and 7th largest stadium in Europe.


Name Position Age
Lucien Favre Head Coach 61
Otto Addo Assistant Coach 44
Manfred Steves Assistant Coach 52
Edin Terzic Assistant Coach  36
Matthias Kleinsteiber Goalkeeping Coach  –


Name  Position Jersey No.
Paco Alcácer Forward 9
Jadon Sancho Forward 7
Jacob Bruun Larsen Forward 34
T. Hazard Forward 23
Julian Brandt Forward 19
A. Witsel Midfielder 28
J. Weigl Midfielder 33
T. Raschel Midfielder 37
Thomas Delaney Midfielder 6
Mahmoud Dahoud Midfielder 8
Raphaël Guerreiro Midfielder 13
Marco Reus Midfielder 11
  M. Götze Midfielder 10
M. Akanji Defender 16
Mats Hummels Defender 15
Dan-Axel Zagadou Defender 2
    L. Balerdi Defender 18

Nico Schulz

Defender 14
Achraf Hakimi Defender 5
Lukasz Piszczek Defender 26
Marcel Schmelzer Defender 29
Mateu Morey Defender 22
Roman Bürki GoalKeeper 1
M. Hitz GoalKeeper 35
Luca Unbehaun GoalKeeper 25



The club holds:

  • 8 German Champion/ Bundesliga titles
  • 6 German Super Cup titles


The Club holds:

  • 1 Champions League title
  • 1 Intercontinental Cup title


Leave a Reply