Club Brugge History, Ownership, Support Staff, Squad members and Honors

Club Brugge is one of the most decorated Belgium Football clubs. They participate in the Belgian Cup, Belgian Super Cup and Jupiler Pro League. It is the first Belgian team that qualified for the 2019 UEFA Champions League.


Club Brugge was formed 127 years ago on 13th November 1891 by the students of Broeders Xavrianen School and Koninklijik Atheneum School.

In the year 1895, the club took part in their first Belgium national league but was knocked out at the initial stages. After the knockout, the team also crashed financially. During such hard times, the team didn’t lose hope and decided to fight back.

Due to their efforts, the club in 1913 reached their first Belgian Cup final but was defeated by Union SG by 2-1. The club learned from their mistakes and came back winning their first League title in 1920.

In 1968, the club clinched Belgian Cup for the first time defeating Beercshot AC in finals. Under the Austrian coach Ernst Happel, the club reached the UEFA Cup, but lost against Liverpool.

Club Ownership

Philippe Delesclue was appointed as the first president of the club in 1891. Since then, many famous personalities have handled the role. Currently, Bart Verhaeghe is the president of the club. He took charge from 1st February, 2011.

The Jan Breydel Stadium currently serves as the home ground of the club. Situated in Sint-Andries, Bruges, the stadium has the net capacity to hold 29,062 spectators.

The current net worth of the club is 130.9 Million Euros.


Name Position Age
Philippe Clement Head Coach 45
Johan Van Rumst Assistant Coach 58
Jonas Ivens Assistant Coach 35
Frederic De Boever Goalkeeping Coach  –
Eddie Rob Physical Coach  –


Name Position
Thierry Dalewyn Team Doctor
Lode Dalewyn Team Doctor
Valentijn Deneulin Physiotherapist
Niels Droesbeke Physiotherapist
Dimitri Dobbenie Physiotherapist
Jan Van Damme Physiotherapist


Name Position Jersey No.
J. Vossen Forward 9
L. Openda Forward 80
Percy Tau Forward 35
M. Diagne Forward 10
D. Okereke Forward 14
S. Schrijvers Forward 16
T. Vlietinck Forward 19
E. Dennis Forward 42
A. Sagna Forward 7
K. Diatta Forward 11
C. De Ketelaere Midfielder 90
H. Vanaken Midfielder 20
R. Vormer Midfielder 25
Mats Rits Midfielder 26
E. Balanta Midfielder 3
M. Mitrovic Defender 15
O. kossounou Defender 5
F. Ricca Defender 18
E. Sonol Defender 2
Clinton mata Defender 77
D. Cools Defender 21
I. Van Der Brempt Defender 92
S. Mignolet GoalKeeper 88
E. Horvath GoalKeeper 22
N. Shinton GoalKeeper 33



The club holds

  • 15 Jupiler Pro League titles
  • 6 Belgian Cup titles
  • 15 Belgian Super Cup titles


The Club holds

  • 1 Kirin Cup title



Leave a Reply