AUS v NZ: Boult, Ferguson make a comeback Jamieson picked up after Test heroics

trent boult and lockie ferguson

lockie ferguson-nz

After defeating the Men in Blue in the ODI series and Test series, the team of New Zealand is gearing up for a whole new challenge. The Black Caps will be touring to Australia for a three-match ODI series against the Aussies later this month.

The Black Caps have finally announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming series and some familiar faces have returned for the Kiwis in white-ball cricket. Pacers like Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, and Matt Henry have been included in the side for the three-match series against the Men in Yellow.

Boult suffered an injury last year during the Boxing Day Test against Australia. Since then, he was not a part of New Zealand’s side in any of the formats. He staged a comeback in the Test series against India but the upcoming series against Australia will be his first ODI game since the ICC Cricket World Cup final against England in July 2019.

His fellow teammates Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry were also seen for the last time in the colored outfit during the World Cup. Boult was out of the game due to a fracture in his right-hand while Ferguson could only bowl 11 overs on his Test debut against Australia before picking up an injury. Henry played a crucial part in New Zealand’s victory against India in the semi-finals of the World Cup, picking up crucial wickets at the top of the order.

Kiwi head coach, Gary Stead, is quite happy to have all three of the pacers back into the side and stated that these bowlers played an important role in making their World Cup campaign so successful.

Trent Boult

“It is great to welcome back the class of Trent, Matt, and Lockie who spearheaded our run to the Cricket World Cup final last year,” New Zealand coach Gary Stead said.

The pace trio will be joined by Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson in the side. Both pacers bowled superb spells in the recently concluded series. Southee was awarded the Player of the Series award for picking up 14 wickets while Jamieson impressed everyone by his all-rounding capabilities.


Martin Guptill, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, and Jimmy Neesham, who were not a part of the Test team, have also been included in the side. Kane Williamson will lead the side while Ross Taylor will once again be the key to their success.

The Chappell-Hadlee series was won by New Zealand last time and they will defend the trophy in the upcoming series, starting from March 13 in Sydney.

New Zealand Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham (wicketkeeper), Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Ross Taylor.